Page 123

This week’s game would seem to be some blog tagging exercise where the victim has to bore their readers with three sentences from their nearest book.

1. Pick up the nearest book.
2. Open to page 123
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people, and acknowledge who tagged you.

I am rather belatedly reading Jacqueline Wilson’s latest book, My Sister Jodie. Sentences number six to eight on p123 go something like this:

She kicked too hard and hurt her foot. “Ow!” she moaned, hopping on one leg. She wasn’t good at balancing on just one high heel and nearly toppled over.

This mad chain blog thingy could only have come from one place, Crime Always Pays. You silly man. Haven’t you got nappies to change and sleep to catch up on? Oh, well. But you people who I’m about to tag had better remember it’s nothing to do with me. The lucky victims are Lowebrow, Julie Bertagna, The Green Knight, Sara O’Leary and Jen Robinson.

8 responses to “Page 123

  1. So easily distracted, me. The book at my elbow is an ARC of Keith Gray’s soon-to-be published book, Ostrich Boys. Will blog the crucial 3 lines later – and hope I’m not breaking some legal embargo…

    (And if that sounds like a blatant plug for a writing pal, I don’t care, it’s a cracking good read!)

  2. i think we’ve all got to brazenly plug the work of our writing friends! it makes all the procrastination worthwhile!

  3. Great site, Candy (oh no, another distraction…). Will add you to my blogroll if that’s ok.

  4. The book at my elbow is sitting here on my desk to remind me to email some interview questions off to Melanie Little. Her book is called The Apprentice’s Masterpiece: A Story of Medieval Spain (Annick Press) and it is a YA verse novel.
    Here goes:
    “As if I am a window/
    in a fancy new home,/
    covered, but only with glass.”

  5. Thanks for thinking of me! I’m taking a tiny break from my blog for a few days, due to travel and houseguests, but for right now, here is my answer. From “The Compound” by S. A. Bodeen (ARC):

    “It would revolutionize medicine. People in need of organ transplants wouldn’t have to wait. And –“

  6. Thanks, Jen. It should have been obvious that people here are reading unpublished books. Makes for better advertising.

  7. Sorry I haven’t picked this one up yet! I was away from my computer for a couple of days. If only I’d thought of the marketing gimmick, I could have done some lines from Lee’s Mortal Ghost, which was probably no farther away from me than any other book at the time. (I think the nearest book was the London A-Z).

  8. Never mind, Nick, I did my own cryptic marketing!

Leave a Reply

