Y A blogs

Time for some witching about other bloggers. Please exchange the ‘w’ for the second letter of the alphabet.

I’m not feeling lonely, but occasionally go out hunting for new colleagues. I’m hoping for inspiration. Maybe some great ideas I could steal. Somewhere to leave comments and engage in some mutual fun.

Other than the blogs I already know about, I’m not finding any of the above. I’m finding lots of blogs, but there is something fishy going on. They are all the same. They link to each other. They even have some posts that are the same, by the same ‘guest blogger’. Or someone who made her own, based on the same idea. The layout which I at first quite liked, loses its appeal when you see they are all the same. Must be someone’s template which automatically makes them like that.

Most of the bloggers are young, although adults. Spelling mistakes are OK in daily posts, I feel, but in the set bits of information down the side? Sloppy. They nearly all have rules for what kind of books they will deign to receive for review purposes. I find that rude. Yes, it makes sense for publishers not to send the wrong kind of book, but if they do, it’s their money that’s been wasted, not the blogger’s.

They supposedly have hundreds of followers, but who wants to read these on a daily basis? If you check blog stats, where available, the hundreds can’t be visiting all that often.

And after puzzling over the books they review, most of which I’ve not heard of, let alone read, I’ve come to the conclusion many of them are teen romances. Nothing wrong with that. I lived off romances myself during the early years. But how can you keep reviewing ‘boy meets girl’ over and over?

Does anyone have a lovely blog suggestion for me, please?

11 responses to “Y A blogs

  1. Oooh, I’m intrigued! I’m wondering if you’re suggesting that publishers have created these oddly similar blogs? Curiouser and curiouser. I haven’t come across these but I’d love to know a name and I’m take a little look. (Yes, i know: this is not what you are asking us to say in comments!)

  2. You were meant to save me, not join me in despair, you know.

  3. It seems a lot of those blogs were created after the Twilight phenomenon so I am little surprised that they review nearly solely romance or teen supernatural novels. I think it’s great that there are platforms for teens and young adults to discuss such books, but there is certainly a lot of them.

  4. A lot of people – or rather the younger folk – started reviewing after Twilight, wanting a platform to express their love for these books and others like it.

    I’ve not come across too many of the blogs you mention above – remember the UK blogging community compared to Stateside is tiny, so they are all bound to know each other.

    When it comes to the genre bloggers (which I count myself one of too) we all know each other quite well, going to similar events and hanging out. But that fortunately doesn’t mean that we agree on everything we read or that we read the same things. Far from it. Out of all of us genre-readers, I think I’m the only one who does all genres – sci-fi, fantasy, adult, kids and young adult books including horror, crime and thrillers – and it’s a case of getting these books, or buying them, and loving them and needing to talk about them!

    Give the younger folk a chance – their enthusiasm is catching and I’m excited to see if this will continue to grow, getting more people reading and talking and also watch them as their tastes develop and change. We hope.

  5. Hi Liz,
    But wouldn’t you rather read more books, than fifty other blogs blogging about the same books? I agree about sharing a passion for whatever it is, but in the end I’d like more time with the passion, than the raptures of other people.

  6. Have read several of your posts with much enjoyment (loved the i/v with Adele Geras in particular). I apologise for not commenting sooner; but depression … y’know, or at least I hope you don’t.
    Your complaint strikes a chord with me, too! These online groups can be very clique-y, seemingly existing at least partly to repel strangers! Several are so precious they’re in danger of disappearing up their own fundaments. Pity, as many of the personal blogs are just ghastly (‘aren’t I wonderful?’ they simper – to which the answer is inevitably ‘no’!).
    Sorry to sympathise rather than suggest constructively, BW. Hm, but will make following tentative recommendations:
    -arts & letters daily (if you don’t already know it) is an excellent digest;
    -Mrs Trefusis takes a Taxi is sophisticated, elegantly-written + has great (genuine) charm; -The Age of Uncertainty is a bookdealer’s blog, quirky & very funny in a delightfully surreal fashion (although you need a Blogger a/c to comment);
    -vanessagebbiesnews – the blog of an award-winning short-story writer/teacher, who blogs about writing, other writers + much more in an engagingly friendly, warm manner that just … invites you in to sit with her and relax.
    Won’t recommend my own; while it IS read, comments are rare – which in my book is a sign of dislike!
    Hope you find more to enjoy in the blogosphere & soon! And thanks for giving me so many treats via your blog.

  7. Although I should have said none are YA … sorry! Reading between the lines, thought you might prefer to go in a different direction.

  8. Not YA? Oh dear. Might look anyway.

    Fundaments? Oh, I see. Elegantly put.

    People are just shy, but wish they weren’t. Comment-wise.

  9. Not sure about the ‘shy’ – most of the people who read my stuff (with the exception of 2 specific posts) are themselves bloggers; so that doesn’t hold good, I fear. Will have to try harder – or not at all.
    If you get onto authonomy, there’s a healthy section on YA work – with links, in some cases, to blogs. Happy hunting!

  10. Thank you, Patti! That one looks perfect for me.

Leave a Reply

