Sweet Coraline, dum dum dum… Or not

You know the Other Mother, the one with button eyes? Scary. You wouldn’t want to wake up and find your mother had changed like that. And you don’t really want to sit at your computer, blogging merrily away, totally awake, to find that you now have an Other Blog Theme. Nightmare stuff.

So were they thinking of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, those lovely people at WordPress, when they named the ‘other’ Cutline ‘lookalike’ theme? Sounds similar enough to Cutline, doesn’t it? And there is the clone idea from Coraline.

Without warning, too, or as near without warning as they could. One admin post on the homepage on Thursday to say that on Monday it would be all change. And one admin post on the day, when the switch had already been made. In other words, one weekend to make changes and to prepare. In prime holiday time. The very same weekend all the WordPress support staff went away, to make life a little more exciting for us bloggers.

I feel like Arthur Dent. How was I supposed to know it was going to happen? And like that? Even the bulldozers were gone when I went to look for something to lie down in front of.

Should really have seen this coming. There had been several witchy premonition types of comments made and chats with innocent bystanders, and I should have known that the world as I knew it was about to end.

It seems – as I have gleaned from other aghast bloggers – that Chris Pearson’s Cutline design (the best I’ve seen!) was pulled because of business politics. It’s not as if it was outdated, or anything. ‘Just’ hurt feelings in the design world. I especially loved the font and the numbers. Those numbers..!

At this point you are all peering like mad at the blog and wondering what’s got into me, because you, who are not this blogs’ mother, can’t tell the difference. But it’s a cuckoo in the nest. It’s not my baby. Really it’s not. Just like the Other Mother wasn’t Coraline’s mother.

I didn’t sleep much on Monday night. There was too much haemorrhaging to go to bed. OK, if they’d ‘only’ changed themes, however inadvisedly. But they changed what you see, and hid things and published private facts from my dashboard. Reorganised some things alphabetically, except they didn’t even get that totally right. My interviews went missing. After all, who cares about those?

I have four blogs. Luckily they didn’t all change simultaneously, so I could salvage some stuff from the other blogs. They also didn’t change the same things on the four blogs, so clearly it was not a planned thing at all. The church blog lost most of its sidebar information and then had an added feature of flickr photos. Except they weren’t mine. And they weren’t suitable for a church blog.

Photowitch – bless her – picked this very day to have a photo of Neil Gaiman. And simply writing my blog post here appears to have triggered some WordPress instinct to self destruct.

So, to get back to my earlier posts about change. No, I don’t want change. If I do, I’ll change properly, by myself. None of this cloned cuckoo stuff.

5 responses to “Sweet Coraline, dum dum dum… Or not

  1. One of the irate emails I sent yesterday was about a minor detail in the appearance of each post. Now I discover that without telling me how to do it, someone has popped into my dashboard and changed it for me. 1984, here we come.

  2. 1984 indeed. What galls me is that by 2010 we were promised space missions to Jupiter to investigate gargantuan orbiting black monoliths with the power to trigger a stellar nova. I demand my gargantuan black monolith. What do we have instead? iPads. Please…

  3. Yes, well…

    What about our mealtimes that would be just a little pill and none of this tedious stuff with television chefs?

  4. havealittletalk

    Oh dear. I used Cutline too and didn’t even notice: the advantages of being a lacksadaisical blogger. But I did notice that the dropdowns in the greybar left side had become really annoying. To get from dropdown box one to the bottom of the list in subdropdown box one was just about impossible. Others must have ranted about this because today I had no problem. I must say you complain remarkably calmly. Your irate is my sweetness and light…

  5. You should have seen my emails to WP. I dispensed with polite.

Leave a Reply

