Bookwitch bites #26

Noah Barleywater Runs Away

John Boyne’s Noah Barleywater Runs Away is out next week. Although it’s been ‘out’ for some time, seeing as Random handed out proofs to all in the audience at the Edinburgh Book Festival. It’s a nice idea, and one I think would be good to try more often. What the proofs didn’t have were the pictures you get in the real deal. Oliver Jeffers has illustrated John’s story as beautifully as you expect from Oliver. (I like Oliver’s pictures, in case you haven’t worked it out.) But I’m puzzling over one thing. I’m fairly sure someone told me that the story had a particular meaning to Oliver’s own life. And I don’t know what it is!

Carl Hiaasen’s Scat is out in paperback. It’s worth noting, because I really liked it, and if you haven’t already got it, now is a good opportunity. It’s the one I feel is on a level with Carl’s adult novels, minus most of the sex.

You can download a sample of The Cat Kin by Nick Green here. Not that you should have any doubts about it, but freebies are always nice, so download and enjoy and then go get the book.

And finally, yesterday brought some news in the Bookseller about The View From Here magazine. Personally I suspect someone’s made a dreadful mistake, but I don’t want to complain.

6 responses to “Bookwitch bites #26

  1. What age group is “Noah Barleywater Runs Away” aimed at?? I love John Boyne as a writer, especially “The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas”. The cover of “Noah Barleywater Runs Away” looks brilliant. I love the shoes at the bottom.

  2. Love the Oliver Jeffers cover. Jealous.

    Hated Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, but you know that already.

  3. Me!!!! – I think the age group is about the same. You may well like this one too.

    Meg – charm Oliver into illustrating one of yours. I’m sure he’d do it for you!

  4. Many congrats on the View From Here accolade! Excellent news! Well done Bookwitch.

  5. Congratulations on joining the crew at The View from Here. It looks very interesting, and I love the breadth of its scope. You’re in very good company.
    PS Your, er, non-bogus post gave me a few much-needed laughs: thank you!

  6. Thank you, ladies! I think TVFH is seriously misguided, however.

Leave a Reply

