Bookwitch bites #56

All together now.

How I wish I could have popped over to Dublin last week. It was positively teeming with crime writers. I know it’s the latest vogue but this strikes me as exceptional. It was the launch of crime anthology Down These Green Streets; Irish Crime Writing in the 21st century, edited by our very favourite Declan, Declan Burke. (Sorry Hughes.)

Down These Green Streets

And I do realise some of you will find it a little hard to drop everything and pop in the Belfast direction for the NI launch tonight. But do try. I would. If I could. There are multi-signed copies of the book for sale from The Gutter Bookshop (which I believe is a lot nicer than the name suggests). I want one. It’d be the next best thing to having been there. But it’s this idea of actually paying…

It’s not just those criminally minded Irish who are ganging up. We have the History Girls. I’ve been hearing rumours for a while, and now they have got their act together. Almost. You can get them on facebook already. And from the 1st July you can enjoy their new blog.

The History Girls

They are girls who write historical fiction. I’m amazed they managed to get so many together for a photo, and very nice they look too. I understand they launched with a lunch, or possibly vice versa, at the home of Michelle Lovric. Should have known someone like Michelle would have an interesting house!

I suppose I shouldn’t ignore that large group of people who have their day tomorrow. The Daddies. We are an unfriendly kind of witch family, so don’t celebrate this kind of event at all. Not even with socks. (And he got a tie for his birthday, so there.) But can you really not go wrong with the books ‘advertised’ below?

Father's Day Penguins

Barnaby Booth

Feeling the need to finish on a softer note; here is Barnaby Booth. Barnaby’s human Daddy is Stephen Booth. I believe Barnaby (I trust you can work out who Barnaby is named after?) helps with the murdering around the house.

7 responses to “Bookwitch bites #56

  1. I think there are far too many crime conventions one would like to pop over to.

  2. Maybe we can arrange to tour the world and visit a few. I have a particular fondness for the Irish.

  3. I thank you kindly for the mention, ma’am. And it would be marvellous to see you both in Dublin, for any reason …

    Cheers, Dec

  4. It looks like Son is on his way to Dublin, very soon. I’ll have to send him along for a book.

  5. Next year in Jeru… eh, Dublin, folks. I´d certainly love to. ;)

  6. Thanks for the heads up The History Girls – you can follow us on Twitter too: @history_girls.

  7. One day Michelle Lovric’s flat will appear in fiction by one or another of us I’m sure. It’s AMAZING and her cooking is as wonderful as you’d expect. It’s going to be fun being a History Girl and thanks for the heads up here.

Leave a Reply

