Oh, gee!

Or guh, guh, guh, as they say in schools these days.

Today children, we are doing the letter G. There is an awful lot of it about.

As you may know, the bookwitch herself is G-afflicted. It wasn’t always thus, but happily for the sake of those hand-monogrammed towels and whatnot I was simply able to add a small horizontal bar to my original letter and I was fine.

But now we are talking of books, and the placing of them in alphabetical order. (Between you and me, I did seriously consider the colour approach. And it would actually have been easier. At least for putting the books on the shelves. Finding them again might have been another kettle of ghoti.)

I’m such a sad witch that I first wrote down the alphabet on a piece of paper and then I didvided it up in equal pieces, based on how many shelves I had to hand. But you can’t actually put an even three letters’ worth on each level. (I did this because the books came at me in a most higgledy piggledy fashion, so I had no way of knowing how many I had of anything. Except too many.) Letters aren’t equal. I thought there might be a lot of Ss. There isn’t, setting that Sedgwick chap aside.

G, however. There is a lot of G here. One and a half shelf. That’s more than anything else. Come to think of it, it’s a bit like my address book. I married a G. This G had relatives who had the nerve to go off and marry other Gs. And to top it all off, I went and acquired a whole new set of relatives myself. Their name began with G. And those who had started off married, got divorced and went back to being Gs. Honestly.

G is for Garbage - Oscar the Grouch

And you need to appreciate that I’m the one who has to mumble ‘J, K’ to myself whenever I have to spell something out in English, before I manage to say ‘GEE.’

Where was I? On about the third shelf down, with the Gs. It starts with Gaiman and ends with Guëne. Between those two you find some nice people who have written some nice books.

7 responses to “Oh, gee!

  1. As I always tell everyone, I was very glad to marry a G! Even if very few people know how to pronounce it….you are in with a whole lot of very nice writers, aren’t you, if you’re a G…

  2. You’re one of the ‘guhs’, except many people don’t know that…

  3. Some of us are cursed with being forever silent ‘gs’s. Lee-oh-ray, I bleat, when asked how to pronounce my surname, but my personal favourite came from a class of tiny P1s in Glasgow who greeted me with – Good morning Missus Ravioli.
    Perfect!

  4. You trying to get out of being someone who takes up half a shelf? Ravioli won’t wash. The Rosoffs and the Rowlings take up a lot of RRRoom, too.

    At least they knew their pasta dishes.

  5. Heck no, missus. I’m very proud of my acreage on the shelves at BookwitchSchloss. Prrrroud. And I had to quash a shudder at the vision of washed ravioli. Ewwwwwww. Wee, pale parcels of soggy meatblob. Nasty. I suspect the ravioli to which they referred was of the tinned variety – but still, at least they matched the food to the surname.

  6. There’s Gliori Ravioli…?

  7. Yes. It’s delicious.
    Anyway, all pasta is washed. You boil it before eating. Even if only to al dente levels.
    I can just visualise little Gliori heads peeping out of the tin…

Leave a Reply

