Werewolves and book awards

First you have weeks of no authors at all on the horizon (perhaps I just wasn’t looking?) and then there are three at once. I am just never satisfied. Although, It was quite handy being able to ‘kill’ all three with the one stone, or more specifically, in a single outing.

Curtis Jobling, Wereworld

Curtis Jobling came to Waterstones Arndale as part of a busy week of taking his Wereworld show round the schools of middle England. (That’s geographical, rather than any comment on what the fans are.) This was his only public event and with me feeling more public than school, I went along, taking my photographer with me. I think Curtis’s Bob the Builder background stood him in good stead and made him sound attractive.

Which he is, and this time Curtis was all pink and red. I pointed him out across the shop, as we’d come in early to case the joint. We take our author chasing seriously. There was a good display of all three Wereworld novels, although the tiddly table provided wasn’t ideal for a serious doodler like Curtis.

Curtis Jobling

He did well though, providing Bob the Builder style princesses on pink paper as and when required, along with wolfy doodles in the Werebooks. I have to admit that the photographer wouldn’t leave before she had a Curtis special, which in this case is a more complex wolf doodle than he normally does, and we had to steal a plastic cover to protect wolfy on the way home.

Curtis Jobling

I didn’t ask any awkward questions. At least, I don’t think I did. Curtis hinted at the developing romances among the were creatures, but I wouldn’t let him say too much in case he said the wrong thing. One young fan asked what is a good age to begin writing, and the answer is ‘early.’ Curtis’s earliest work can be found in his Mum’s loft. He thinks it might be best if it stays there.

The favourite question of the day was whether there are any subliminal messages in Bob the Builder. 12-year-olds are getting older and wiser. Not sure that the subliminalness of Bob was fully addressed, however.

Curtis Jobling

When enough doodling had been done, and there were enough photos of pink checked shirts, we took our leave, and went in search of a tram.

It’s book award time in Salford today, and Candy Gourlay and Pat Walsh checked in early and were looking for dinner companions on Thursday evening. Michael Morpurgo wasn’t there, and Jon Mayhew lives near enough to drive over this morning, and someone had to make up the numbers. So we did.

It’s beautiful in Salford Quays at night, with the lights along the canals and the lit up blocks of flats and the BBC and the Lowry and all that. At least if it doesn’t rain. It didn’t.

We dined and we gossiped. If your ears burned, that will be because we mentioned you, but only in the nicest way. We are nice people. The food was good and as you can see we didn’t leave anything. No mention here of who had three…, no she didn’t. I just remembered that none of us ate too much.

Dinner

I don’t know who has won, but some time today the Lowry will fill up with Salford school children, and the shortlisted authors will be given one child each (!), but not to take home. The children will take their author onto the stage and say nice things about them, before the winner is announced.

I hope they all win.

7 responses to “Werewolves and book awards

  1. Good luck to all in Salford today (but I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for Pat Walsh, as The Crowfield Curse is one of my favourite books ever – so engaging, wonderful characters and a real, live hob).

  2. When I met Pat at the Branford Boase in the summer I wanted a copy of her book, but was too cheap to pay for one on sale there. Made up for this by asking for a free copy last night. It does sound good.

  3. … let me reveal here that Pat tends to promise to share food and then reneges on the promise. Despite that personality defect, we enjoyed her company very much!

  4. As I recall, Ms Gourlay, I wasn’t the one with THREE plates/bowls of food in front of me! It was a lovely evening, in spite of Candy eating everything in sight, with the exception of the table cloth. And it was really good to meet Ann the Bookwitch and Helen. Thank you for your excellent company – we’ll have to do it again one of these days.

  5. Yes, I can sense that a regular Manchester centred literary lunch would be A Good Thing. It needn’t be just the ‘locals’ but could be all those famous but hungry writers who don’t mind popping in.
    And I actually felt I was being discreet as to the ownership of those empties. YOU are the ones telling Mr Gourlay that his wife lost control.

  6. Whatever happened to off the record? And sharing? It was an excellent supper and so far, the other half hasn’t noticed the additional poundage. Camouflage does wonders.

  7. It was the other two.

Leave a Reply

