The Hunger Games – the film

The book surfaced quite suddenly from nowhere four years ago, and one moment I had never heard of it and the next everyone was enthusing like mad about it. I thought it sounded horrible. The plot, I mean. And then I wondered if I was missing something and needed to read it. And then when I started investigating, someone suggested it was great for younger readers but not necessarily a book for adults.

So I never did read it. Even Little Flower’s Granny read it, which surprised me somewhat. Some weeks ago Daughter caved in as well, and went out and actually bought (!) all three books.

All I had to offer when she returned to Bookwitch Towers the other day (apart from my lovely company to go and see the film, of course) was a Hunger Games mug (beautiful red) and a Mockingjay pin. The pin narrowly avoided being binned, because I could see it would merely waltz around the house for years, littering, before someone finally threw it away.

Turns out it’s very much the item to have. Some people pay money for it, even.

So, we went to see the film yesterday (and you can read more on CultureWitch for some sort of film review) and it was good, just as they said. It makes a change, really. I’d say that unlike the Harry Potter films, which must have left anyone who had not read the books totally bewildered, The Hunger Games made sense. I got what it was about, although I allowed Daughter to explain a few things, because I could tell she wanted to.

The Hunger Games - Jennifer Lawrence

I’m really very good at hating badly cast actors, and I have a fervent dislike of some actors and actresses (usually for no good reason at all). Wonderful to find someone like Jennifer Lawrence whom I actively loved. Whether I will support Team Gale or Team Peeta I couldn’t say. In fairness, we didn’t see much of Gale, so perhaps leave the decision a little longer. Gale is more handsome, but I suspect Peeta might be nicer.

And it’s a shame that we have to be so suspicious of any novel-to-film in the YA world. There are several fantastic books optioned, but it’s easy to be cynical and expect very little good to come of it.

(Speaking of Cynical, she had quite a bit to say on the subjet of this film. It would seem Cynical is rather an expert. I read her lists of dislikes and minor niggles – which for a film that she loved is an interesting concept – and they made no sense to me at all. So I returned to them after seeing the film, and they made perfect sense.)

12 responses to “The Hunger Games – the film

  1. Nice article!
    I think you might like this post that I loved yesterday!
    http://lisawrosenberg.com/2012/03/30/the-hunger-games-corduroy-and-me/

  2. Jennifer Lawrence was great, but not a single second of the film moved me an iota. Call me old fashioned, but I prefer my emotion not to be prepackaged and push button. I mean, I didn’t even care when Rue bit the dust. Is that them or me?

  3. You MUST read the books! They have plenty of depth in them for adult readers, and have reminded me what writing is all about at a time when I was starting to feel rather jaded by the YA “market”. The first one – The Hunger Games – is especially brilliant, and I experienced the same shivers down my spine while reading it as I did when I read Margaret Atwood’s “The Handmaid’s Tale” years ago.

  4. Read? Really? Funnily enough, Daughter didn’t bring those books. She brought everything else.
    Meg, I didn’t mind about Rue either. I mean, I minded, but it didn’t affect me. Whereas the Exotic Marigold, as I like to call the film, and which we saw two days earlier, moved me a lot.

  5. My friend (who hasn’t read the books but is a major film buff) said it was like watching someone do their Duke of Edinburgh award. Which I thought was funny. The film was better than the book but the book wasn’t really my cup of chai to be honest. Jennifer Lawrence was fantastic though

  6. I read the first book and decided that was enough for me. I remember something called Galaxy Arena (many years ago that I recall as being similar) but cannot remember who wrote it. The books have been extremely popular in school and a cake of Rue’s Song won our Edible Book Competition this year. It was a really good cake!

  7. Edible book competition..? It’s different.

  8. My fundamental problem with those books is that they wallow in the very thing they are supposed to be denouncing. We’re meant to feel how horrible it is that children, for heavens’ sake!! are being made to fight! in an arena!! for peoples’ entertainment!!!
    And then you get page after page of graphic violence as the kids rip into each other, and this is the core of the book’s entertainment value. There’s no getting away from it. I suppose you could argue that it was very clever satire, to make the reader no better than the Hunger Games audience… but I don’t buy that.

  9. This is turning into a Twilight discussion. Some say I should, others that I needn’t bother reading. I’m inclined not to, now. From the first I was taken aback by this idea that the last one standing is the winner, and then they go and change the rules, because we’ve been made to care for more than one character.
    The Duke of Edinburgh award thing is funny, and more than a little true. (Kissing in a cave? Tick.)

  10. I’m beginning to feel I rather missed out… (not a DoE type of gal)

  11. stuartneaca291

    I finally saw the movie with my nephew and nieces. It was pretty good, I thought. I don’t know much about the book, but the description from IMDB gave it a Running Man vibe but with much younger participants. Not sure if I’d review the movie. But I’d like to see a sequel.

Leave a Reply

