A Pope kind of moment

I recall Putney Boy’s reaction to hearing that the Pope had died. Being very Italian and impatient with it, he pointed out to the bearer of this piece of news that it was old news. Very old news. What this favourite waiter of mine had missed was that Pope John Paul I had died, and that we weren’t still talking about the death of Paul VI.

But it’s easy to miss even the biggest news on occasion.

I had one of those dead Pope moments on Thursday evening. I saw a mention on facebook that Carnegie winner Patrick Ness had made some speech about the government and books. I thought irritably that it was all very well to post this if you care about books and reading, but that it had been a year since Patrick’s speech.

Patrick Ness

By Friday morning I had cottoned on to the fact that he had only gone and been awarded the Carnegie again. And the speech was a new speech. My next piece of intelligence suggested that A Monster Calls had actually won the Kate Greenaway medal, which to my tired mind (two days on the road and very little sleep) meant that it was really Jim Kay who had got the medal.

Over mugs of tea the witch family slipped onto the subject, and I shared this Greenaway thought when Daughter said A Monster Calls had received both awards. Personally I thought it unlikely, and we only managed not to come to blows over this by some unexpected maturity we must have had in us.

Struck by a need to know, I researched the whole thing and found she was correct, and that the 2012 medals had been awarded in an unusual way, with one book sharing both.

Well deserved, as everyone has been saying. And some of us feel that it is perhaps an award shared by three people if we count Siobhan Dowd as well.

A Monster Calls

I really, really need to get on a Carnegie mailing list, if there is such a thing. Longlists and shortlists and award dates and winners must no longer slip through my keyboard in this embarrassing fashion. And to think I was actually, for once, in London on the day, too…

5 responses to “A Pope kind of moment

  1. This is the first time I have come across someone mentioning the role that Siodhan Dowd had in this book, although I’m sure others have done so. One of the wonderful things about it for me was that it was a book that stood on its own, having an overwhelming feel of neither writer but being totally unique as an entity.

  2. It is a very special book, and to have this shared Carnegie prize when three people have been involved in different ways, is so appropriate.

  3. I really enjoyed A Monster Calls, and I’m glad Patrick Ness won the awards because, as I’ve mentioned before, he’s my favourite author.
    Well, one of them…

  4. Patrick Ness spoke about the win on Radio 4, Thursday evening (I think it was Front Row but it was around 7.30pm) and he was very complimentary about Siobhan Dowd. It was a really interesting interview.

Leave a Reply

