A little bit of Flanders in Scotland

After years of me bringing Offspring along to interviews, and then borrowing other people’s children for the same purpose, I have finally got to the point where the interviewee arrives with children in tow. (They were invited!) The circle is complete, and all that. And whereas I have used (my own) children’s labour to obtain photographs in the past, very little has changed. This time I borrowed the visiting Miss Grant to take pictures of Mum, aka Helen Grant.

The family involvement didn’t stop there. I might have been Offspring-free, but not only did I have the Resident IT Consultant on kitchen duty, but the Grandmother had to provide the venue. (I only asked permission after I’d set the whole thing up.)

Helen Grant

While Master Grant made the most of the Grandmotherly wifi and charged his laptop, his sister took photos and read books, as befits the true child of an author. The mothers ate cake. Obviously. Pizza. Garlic bread. I won’t tell you how many slices Helen ate. Tea and glasses of Coke were also consumed during the process of interviewing one of Scotland’s more recently imported authors.

Helen’s new book Silent Saturday won’t be out until next year, but we need to think and talk about it before then, which is why three quarters of the Grant family kindly got themselves lost while searching for the Grandmother’s abode. The fourth quarter Grant avoided this by rescuing some mountains instead.

So, Helen and I discussed Flanders and Belgium, where the book is set, and we talked languages, because that’s important in the book. We talked background and all sorts of others stuff, and you will have to wait for all this because – as I said – the book won’t be available just yet. Helen had to restrain herself from giving away too many spoilers as regards books two and three, and since not one of you (?) has even read the first one yet, I can’t say much about that either.

After this we talked about all sorts of other things while enjoying the Resident IT Consultant’s heating-up-food abilities. Picts. Flemish lessons. Lost railway lines. You know.

Leave a Reply

