Oh Christmas tree

Christmas tree

Here we go again. The Bookwitch Christmas tree is up, but not dressed. Has probably not even had breakfast yet. We’ll throw some lights on it, maybe tomorrow, and then goodness knows when there will be time to add baubles and stuff. 2012 is a blue year. That means we leave the red baubles in the box and put the blue ones on the tree. One year I found we had too many decorations, so split them up according to colour.

Less is more.

I have blogged about similar topics on here before. But I must state that I do not have a religious tree. It has the word Christmas in it because that’s what this time of December is called. ‘Back home’ I would have a julgran, and according to Wikipedia Yule tree is half acceptable here. Many languages have secular words for their trees. Tannenbaum only means tree with needles, I think. The Danes and the Norwegians have their version of Yule and so do the Finns. Not sure who Noel is, but the Spanish speak of birth. Esperanto seems to have a Christ related tree-word, however.

But that’s beside the point. I feel anyone can have a tree if they want to, no matter what their religion, or lack of. And Christians don’t have to have one. It’s a seasonal decoration. (Mine consists of 56 branches and one top, all attached to a ‘trunk’ which divides in two. I know, because I was sad enough to count this time.)

Anyway, what got me started was this piece by Neil Gaiman from a few years ago. It was the first time I’d considered that non-Christians might have to go without trees. That they might even choose to. And that children will nearly always want what their friends have. Neil’s parents sound all right.

Mother-of-witch was a busy woman. She must have decided early on what she could cope with to make life Christmassy (juligt), and what we might as well be without. She chose tree and ginger biscuits.

That’s why I can do without most things, but not the tree and not the biscuits. And contrary to my gluttonous remark yesterday, if one thing has to go, it would be the biscuits.

4 responses to “Oh Christmas tree

  1. I was unfortunately influenced way too early by reading a story in an otherwise cheerful Christmas book about different traditions which considered the fate of a yule tree after the holiday was over. Rats, darkness and I believe some sort of attic figured in. So I am a bit ambivalent about all of it, though live trees and fake trees do ameliorate this somewhat.

  2. That’s deep, Seana. I was only pondering the religiousness of the tree, whether live, fake or suffering a dreadful fate in an attic. Although one with faith might do better when the rats come.

  3. I don’t have a religious tree either. Altho’ I was born and raised a good Protestant. My daughter and son-in-law are Jewish.
    I love trees and I don’t like mixing religiosity into their beautiful branches. with religiosity. Thanks to Educating Alice and the fact that I’m l/20 into Code Name Verity, and Linda Sue Park just told me how extremely wonderful that book is, here I am at your blog and wanting to spend the whole day. But then how would the tree ever get decorated?

Leave a Reply

