A true story for Christmas

You must ‘click through’ and read this! Even on re-reading the true story by Eva Ibbotson (from the Guardian) I found that my eyes developed some inexplicable dampness.

It’s about libraries, war, refugees and more. Eva Ibbotson is no longer with us, and our libraries seem destined to go the same way. Wouldn’t it be lovely if stories like this one could stop library closures, while also opening our hearts more to those who have had to leave their homes, through no fault of their own?

Kensal Rise library

Here is to knowledge and reading and friendship and languages, in and out of libraries!

6 responses to “A true story for Christmas

  1. A wonderful story. I’m not sure what will coax adults into going back to libraries, though, which is mentioned at the bottom of the tale. It would have to be something very unexpected.

  2. Hmm, that’s not what I meant. I must be losing it. I suppose it was more like, if lots more people used libraries, and in this particular way, then those libraries would somehow no longer be in danger of closing down. Many users mean no closures?

  3. Aaaahhh! That story brought tears to my eyes, too! And it highlights the value of libraries – places of welcome, warmth and wondrous worlds (factual or fictional). A place without them would be so bleak.

  4. Really lovely story and I truly hope you’re right and that reminding people how important and special these places are will make them want to protect them.

  5. *Sniff* What a lovely story! (I’m also reminded of a research paper I once heard about Anna Gmeyner – I’m afraid the only thing that actually made me pay attention was the speaker’s note in passing that Gmeyner was Ibbotson’s mother.)

  6. No, it was at the end of the article itself that mentioned that they were trying to figure out ways to get adults back. It struck me because I used to go to the library all the time, and now I don’t. I think I may be part of a trend.

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

