Is it cold, or is it just me?

The night had been chilly, but the frost seemed to be gone by mid-morning. As I walked round The Park (it’s what we call our triangle of streets of around one hundred houses), I noticed frost on ‘my’ bit of the pavement. Again. This time I walked along all the pavements, and it was only the part outside Bookwitch Towers that still had frost on.

Previously I’d been aware that after periods of real snow, once it starts to melt, it will be totally gone in most places. Except outside our house. Returning home one evening a while ago, when it had begun snowing very lightly, I couldn’t help seeing that it was particularly settled just outside Bookwitch Towers.

A few weeks ago I walked round (I do this a lot) after some modest snow, finding it had disappeared everywhere, except, yes you guessed. In fairness, there were three more cold spots that day; outside Senior Scout’s house, by the Grammar School and near Corrie House. What do we have in common?

The cold spot

I asked on facebook. If anyone knows, it will be them. There were mutterings about Narnia. The White Witch.

It’s possible, I suppose. I just had no idea. Honestly.

Turkish Delight, anyone?

2 responses to “Is it cold, or is it just me?

  1. As I’m sure I told you, I’m fairly certain that there’s something underneath that section of road that must keep it cooler. Since on these wonderfully cold days, you can also see a couple of straight sections in the frozen expanse that are far to symmetrical to be caused by anything but something hot underneath.

  2. Yes dear. The stripes have to do with what was ntl cables back when they happened. Now I think they are Virgin. That’s why they are hotter. Still does NOT explain why my pavement is colder than everybody elses.

Leave a Reply

