The Lighthouse trilogy

It wasn’t until I went into the kitchen to make lunch that I realised the Resident IT Consultant had not even had breakfast yet. I knew he was awake, but had forgotten to ‘keep tabs’ on what he was doing.

But I didn’t need to go and have a look at him to know what. He was busy reading Adrian McKinty’s Lighthouse trilogy. I had, yet again, pointed out he might like to read all three Lighthouse books. Because they really are good. He’d read the first and given up.

Or so we thought. When he took a second look at The Lighthouse Land, he came to the conclusion he had probably (!) not actually read it at all. So he remedied that, and skipping breakfast was one way of getting more reading in, once he’d opened his eyes that morning. He didn’t skip breakfast so much as have it after I’d lunched, so it was lunch he missed in the end.

After that I knew how it would go. He went straight on to The Lighthouse War, barely pausing for breath. And then he grabbed my rare, signed copy of The Lighthouse Keepers, and it was all I could do to tell him not to drop it in the bath.

The next morning he returned it, safe and finished. Knowing that he is sparing with the adjectives, even for marvellous books, I asked ‘was it OK, then?’

‘Reasonable, I suppose,’ said the man who had barely eaten or slept while reading.

If anyone else feels like depriving themselves over three reasonable books, do have a go. He is underrated, that Adrian McKinty. Even by Resident IT Consultants…

2 responses to “The Lighthouse trilogy

  1. Yes, and this kid’s trilogy even more underrated than the rest. Love this stuff, though it doesn’t explain why I still haven’t read book 3. Except for my own peculiar psychology of always wanting to have something in reserve.

  2. But now you have my permission to take that extra step and read it. We all need to save something, but the end of the world has been and gone, so it’s high time.
    You can save something new for later.

Leave a Reply

