Moving tales #1

Whether or not I end up with a pink bathroom suite remains to be seen. But I simply cannot not blog about moving, or even the horrible stuff that happens before it.

26 years ago we did it with a book. Obviously. I was a fledgling bookwitch even back then. It went quite well, on the whole, so this time round I’m expecting the worst. I bought a new edition of that life-saving book on moving, but I am not hopeful.

We are pruning. Bookwitch Towers isn’t even on the market yet, but it is bursting at the seams – rather like its mistress – and something has to be done. So we flit from one corner to another, flinging stuff in an outwardly direction. Freegle is good for some things. There are now rescued greyhounds no longer shivering thanks to our old duvets. (The Resident IT Consultant had to google the greyhounds, to see if they were rescued, or rescuing. You know, St Bernhard style, except with accompanying duvet.)

The woman who took the electric barbecue blessed me, while the one who took our holey jeans made sure the Resident IT Consultant wasn’t off to the cinema to see something she wouldn’t approve of. He didn’t know. But she did approve in the end (which will be because I was the one who picked the film).

I started pulling at the books in a listless and unplanned manner, which is why I gave up again and went to write this instead.

But as I was saying, I will need to supplement my meagre book-blogging with moving tales. You’ll be crying in the aisles.

Sorry.

11 responses to “Moving tales #1

  1. Poor you. Except I would love to move and it will be worth it. Hopefully we’ll be doing the same fairly soon. Derbyshire libraries take book donations. Think what you could do for the barren shelves of Matlock Children’s Library.

  2. Sympathies! Moving is chaotic no matter how organised you are. Just look forward to that lovely moment, months from now, when you finally unpack the last box in your new home and discover belongings you’d completely forgotten you had.

  3. It’s one thing getting rid of the OH’s more disreputable clothes (it’d be worth moving just to cull the drawer of holey tee-shirts that he’s kept in case he does re-decorating – as if) but culling books is another matter.

  4. Victoria – one, or possibly two, holey t-shirts will be enough. Once those are worn out, another one will have emerged to replace it.

    Linda – I am trying to forget them now, so they won’t even have to be packed. Is there anything you need?

    Hilary – please could you move to the same place as me? Not the same house (although that would mean the large ones wouldn’t be too large) but somewhere close.

    Not sure I want to inflict just anything on Matlock Library, but will keep them in mind.

  5. Dearest Ms Witch: need, no. Want, lots! My theory is that what one requires from life is not fewer books, but bigger bookcases. And books are good insulation, too! I do admit though that I occasionally give a few well-I’ll-never-read-that-again books I’ve had for review to the young girl across the road. She in turn distributes them among her friends.

    En passant, SCBWI organised a collection of new and new-looking books for Great Ormond Street just before Christmas one year: they were apparently very welcome.

    What I like to keep/collect above all is complete sets of books. Settling down to read right through a whole series in one go is way better than going on holiday, to my mind! Although I already live at the sea-side, so I’m at an advantage.

    And Victoria, surely the time you need holey tee-shirts is when you’ve just moved? I lived in my post-chic collection for months after I moved here while I painted, scraped, dug, etc. What am I saying? I still do!

  6. You live by the sea? I’m so jealous.
    The problem with giving away books is to find a worthy recipient, and to find the books aren’t too much vampire sex or plain dreadful.
    Have just sent the Resident IT Consultant to Offspring’s old school with old ‘wood.’

  7. Yes certainly. No problem. Just give me a moment to dispose of the kids and mother.

  8. PS Matlock children’s library is a worthy cause! I got our local Patrick McL. to check it out a year or two ago. He thought it was okay. Doesn’t that tell you everything?

  9. Take heart! We moved last June from 5 bedrooms and, more importantly, two full garages to a much smaller place. We used Freegle,eBay,local charity shops and Finders Keepers in Whaley Bridge to dispose of 40 years of collecting with the tip at Buxton the last resort. One unexpected bonus was the loss of more than 40 kg in weight between the 2 of us. Result ! And we miss very little of that which has gone.

  10. I wouldn’t miss 40kg. At all.
    This morning I had five sacks for the Br Heart Foundation (who collect). Still waiting for two freeglers to come today. The Resident IT Consultant took a ‘small starter load’ of books to Oxfam the other day, and walked to the local charity shop with some items.
    Hmm, I suspect it’s he who will lose the weight…
    So far it’s eBay that scares me. I am good at buying. Just haven’t sold yet, and I’m dragging my feet.

  11. Hilary – I am quite pro mother and pro kids (within reason), so bring who you like. Even Mr McKay. He can talk to my mister.
    Who is Patrick McL?

Leave a Reply

