Putting your house in order

What do five-year-olds read? And does it matter if they play football?

We’ve recently had cause to use the services of a joiner. He looks about 25 (and I know I am being ageist), but I was delighted to hear he has not only a wife, but two small children. I have taken to preying on people with young ones.

As usual I am hoping to get rid of – sorry, pass on – books, and a new age category is always good. Besides, children grow so fast. Yesterday’s seven-year-old is a teenager before you know what’s going on.

The thing is, when I started looking to see what I have that would suit someone who is five, I found I just wasn’t sure. First year at school? Probably. They can’t read. Or can they? So, someone reads to them. Or not? If so, what?

You see. I know nothing.

In the end I picked out mostly ‘picture books’ that seemed too mature for a toddler, and more childish than what I think I know a seven-year-old might read. This one apparently plays football. Does that mean he isn’t into books?

I’m supposed to know about these things.

After the joiner comes the decorator, to cover up what his colleague has worked on. As I’ve already mentioned on here, he does have useful children. And they have cousins, or so I’ve been told. Between them they cover a good many ages, so it’s been easier to pick out more books for them.

Before these fathers of young readers so conveniently turned up, I was planning to cart books to Offspring’s primary school. But I’d been agonising over what to choose for them as well. I can almost recall what was in the junior school library, but my mind goes blank when thinking back to what was in the infants’ library. As with the young soccer fan, surely they must be past picture books?

Or not?

2 responses to “Putting your house in order

  1. I got a whole load of classic picture books in for my (secondary school) library this year, as we recently started a child development course, and we needed some for the students. To my amusement, they are hugely popular with the rest of the students at breaks and lunchtimes – it has become common to hear groups of kids chanting “We’re going on a bear hunt”, or seeing them curled up in corners revisiting childhood favourites. I have even had some borrowed to take home to read with younger brothers and sisters. Any age for picture books I would say!

  2. True. I like picture books. I’ve not been three for some time. There is nothing so safe as revisiting the past.

Leave a Reply

