The author’s bookshelves

When I feel really confused I believe that one of Helen Grant’s bookcases is a fireplace. But apart from that I am completely normal.

(It’s because it looks a little fireplace-ish. More than mine, anyway.)

The Resident IT Consultant and I enjoyed looking through Helen’s shelves when we were waiting for her to get lunch ready the other week. (She had declined my help. I let her. That’s the kind of visitor I am.) They are shelves that anyone would enjoy browsing for unexpected – or for that matter, totally expected – books. We flitted from side to side, since there was no discernible system. Lovely.

They are nice bookcases. The furniture, I mean. Dark brown. Not too plain and not too ornamental. Just right. And one of them sits where the fireplace would be if there was one. Hence my understandable memory lapse. As befits a proper library, the room boasts leather sofas. And cats.

I am sure that Helen, or the younger Grants, own every one of the Harry Potter books. But they are so nicely spread out that you could never accuse the family of believing in alphabetical order. The HPs are not even in the same bookcase, or along the same wall!

And they have at least two copies of a book about witches and magic. Either they don’t know this, or they need both. I felt suitably appreciated, anyway. There are books by Johan Ajvide Lindqvist, or what I call horror of horrors. Someone likes outdoorsy books. They have books on food. On health. And, er, some by Helen Grant.

Some books stand in front of other books. In other words, the Grant book collection is very, very normal. I suspect they haven’t acquired books with an eye to what others will think. Which is just as well, since when they moved (I have forgotten now if it was to Germany or to Belgium) their new neighbours asked why they’d bothered dragging all those old books with them.

Yeah, I mean, you’d think people wouldn’t take things they’d already used when moving house.

5 responses to “The author’s bookshelves

  1. I can completely understand using a fireplace as a bookcase (my fireplace is full as DVDs. It frees up the shelves for books. (well, and the floor. )

  2. Heh! Actually the house was built in 1970 so it doesn’t have a real fireplace at all, but the Bookwitch is perfectly right; one of the bookcases is right where you would expect there to be a fireplace, and as the bookcases all have quite sturdy frames and a kind of lintel on top, you could easily mistake one of them for a fireplace! :-)

  3. Thank you, Helen. It was as I reflected on my view that I made a fireplace, until I remembered the books were on all three walls without a window, which meant the poor fireplace was no more.

    Marjorie, for god’s sake don’t light anything!

  4. Pingback: Treaured Tomes | cricketmuse

Leave a Reply

