Bookwitch bites #110

Daughter joined us on Friday, on possibly the most impossible of evenings. The area by the railway station had an extra 20,000 people milling about (and for a small town that’s quite a lot), but they hadn’t all come to meet her. We just managed to miss, yet again, Gyllene Tider in concert. We’ll get our act together, one of these years.

So far it’s been a mixed sort of holiday. I’ve done almost nothing, so pretty restful. I did join in the Twitter chat between Sarah Dessen and Cathy Cassidy last Sunday. It wasn’t the total fan crash I’d predicted. I even managed to ask Sarah a question, and she replied! You might be able to find all or some of it on #PenguinChat.

And speaking of wildlife, mere days after reviewing Anthony McGowan’s Brock, we encountered a badger of our own, running across the road. We’ve seen plenty of hares, which caused the Resident IT Consultant to ask ‘what’s the Swedish for hare?’ I told him it’s hare. It’s obvious.

He was kind enough to stop to let two people and their dog cross the road outside the local foodshop (rather than run them down with the Vets’ car). They smiled and waved (I suspect even the dog smiled). This alarmed me, until I encountered them inside the shop and realised they were Danish. Which totally explained the happiness.

Number ten

With me being in new house mode these days, I have looked at advertisements here as well. Just out of curiosity. Found one described as being dressing gown distance from the sea. I can’t tell you how tempting that is.

And once you’re on the beach, what you might find is your next coffee table. The Resident IT Consultant and I came across a complete pallet as we strolled near the water’s edge the first day. He doesn’t keep up with fashion, so had no idea people now pay hundreds of pounds for a pallet with castors (when you can simply carry one home from the beach). Now he knows. But we resisted the urge to bring it home. It was hard, but we managed. For all I know it’s still there. Or the dressing gown brigade got to it.

But it’s not all fun and Danes and driftwood. I have had another delivery of books. My holiday letterbox doesn’t know what’s hit it. (Two books. On the same day.)

Holiday letterbox

4 responses to “Bookwitch bites #110

  1. “It’s not all fun and Danes and driftwood.” – classic! You’ve got me giggling here, Ann. Enjoy your hols.

  2. Do YOU need a weathered pallet? Or not ‘thirties’ enough?

  3. The idea of a pallet on castors fills me with horror, I’m afraid, principally because I have no eye/feet coordination and would be sure to trip over it and break my neck. Incidentally, I had the Swedish contingent staying this weekend. We had to do walking in the woods in Alderley Edge. There were no smiling Danes involved. I feel rather traumatised.

  4. I am so sorry. I do feel for you. But Swedes know best and walks are really ‘very nice.’
    As for me, I paddle on the edge of the sea. Much better edge than Alderley.

Leave a Reply

