Bookwitch bites #112

‘One of the best writers in Texas’ died this week. I didn’t know John Graves, either as an author or as a person. But as I mentioned here a while back, in this crazy online world, I sort of know his daughter Helen. I had no idea her father was a writer, nor that he was well enough known to merit an obituary in the New York Times. He sounds like a lovely and very interesting man. John would have been 93 on Tuesday. This may sound simple, but I appreciate it when people share their friends and families with the rest of us. It’s good to know about people.

Someone who got shared a little too much for Michael Rosen’s liking, was little George, whose birth was registered this week. He – Michael, that is – wrote a poem about being told what he likes. Much as I enjoyed baby George for his parents’ sake, I have to agree with our former children’s laureate. There is much I really do not need to know. And I don’t necessarily feel the same way about it as you do.

Mind by Michael Rosen

To get back to online friendships, I found someone’s opinions so off-putting this week that I nearly de-friended them over it. It’s rather like Michael’s poem; I know that others disagree with me and try to allow for it, but am amazed that some of them seem to have no concept that I might see things differently from them.

Someone who is always wise, with – mostly – sensible thoughts on a variety of topics is Norman Geras. His blog was ten years old a week ago today. I don’t share his fondness for cricket, but that just makes things more interesting. Not less.

And you know other people telling you about their holidays? Can be boring, but not when it’s done like this. Theresa Breslin blogged about her long suffering husband, who has finally had a holiday where doing research for Theresa’s next book didn’t come first. In fact, might not have happened at all. (I don’t read The History Girls every day. I should. They are always interesting.)

I will leave you with a great cartoon of another children’s laureate. Here is Malorie Blackman as seen by the very talented – and slightly crazy – Sarah McIntyre. When I grow up, I want to be able to draw like Sarah.

Malorie Blackman by Sarah McIntyre

3 responses to “Bookwitch bites #112

  1. Of course we all now wonder if it was us who was almost axed in the friendship department.

    I love the Michael Rosen lines. It applies to much more than royal babies. I tend to like pretty much all babies, but they don’t have to present their credentials for this to happen.

  2. Seana, remind me again, which of my fb friends are you?
    (I could never axe you. We are practically twins.)
    As for waiting for babies of the royal variety, Sweden put me in my place. What baby is this? people asked as I mentioned it. They could just about remember who William is.

  3. Oh, Facebook. Then it couldn’t be me.
    Very different from Sweden here in the U.S. then. We may have had a revolution, but fascination with the British monarchy remains in our blood. My cousin was sure she was meant to marry Prince Charles back before Diana and all the rest of it. And who knows, maybe she was.

Leave a Reply

