And then it was time for lunch

First I need to get the pink pyjamas out of the way by mentioning them in passing, like this.

Right, that’s that done then.

For a very long time I didn’t meet Teri Terry. And then I see her twice in eight days. Which was very nice. On Tuesday she had some librarians to talk to at Waterstones Deansgate, and being a friendly sort of person she inquired as to how many willing and able lunch companions Manchester had to offer for a meal beforehand.

George Kirk, Jon Mayhew and Teri Terry

Seven, in the end, as some people were working, and some people remembered in the nick of time that they are parents and would actually need to pick up their children from school.

Marnie Riches, Jo Dearden, Nina Wadcock and Lorrie Porter

But the rest of us met up for lunch, with Jon Mayhew the lone male, surrounded by lovely women writers. And me. It was great food, and great fun. I’m so discreet, however, that apart from the pyjamas I will say no more.

Well, not much more, anyway. We talked ebooks at my end, and praised Harry Potter (yes, really), and there was some publishing gossip. And people brandished their copies of Teri’s and Jon’s books for signing. (We never forget we are fans first.) Marnie Riches who came despite being a parent-picker-upper left early. Which was a shame, but better than nothing.

Teri Terry

The day started with me boarding Teri’s Pendolino* in Stockport, so that I could gently guide her from Piccadilly towards Deansgate, and by happy circumstance interview her as well. I felt Waterstones café was a suitably bookish venue for this kind of thing. Teri bribed me with apple juice, so I will only say nice things about her. (I would have, even without juice.)

Marnie Riches

Marnie, eager to get in early to make up for parenthood, joined us there, and I saw the attraction in this and appointed her my photographer. The rumour must have spread, as Jon also turned up early, but by then the camera had been packed away. And in order to feed Marnie before she had to leave, we crossed the road to the Mexican restaurant someone had suggested.

Their cheesecake could have done with being half the size.

*That makes me feel like a cowboy who jumps from his horse to the stagecoach for a daring rescue.

18 responses to “And then it was time for lunch

  1. :O You replaced me?!

  2. Uhm. Yes. Temporarily. Marnie was there, and you weren’t…

  3. How hard was it to leap from a horse onto a pendolino?

  4. I need forehead reduction surgery. Do you think that’s a “thing”?

  5. I have a similar forehead. I cover it with hair. But my theory is that we notice it more than anyone else ever does.

  6. Sorry not to see YOU in your pjs – you’ve seen me in mine so it seems only right.

  7. Lovely to see everyone! Though I’m sure that apple juice bribe was meant to cover only using good photos of me, too. Ah well. When am I famous enough to get a stylist?

  8. Don’t be silly, Teri!

    Addy, absolutely no one wore pyjamas. And I promised not to mention them. Or who it was that didn’t wear them.

  9. Next time I think we should ALL go in pyjamas. I would :-)

  10. I love my PJs, too! I especially love my fuzzy purple ones *sigh*. I wish it were socially acceptable to wear them everywhere

  11. Onesie Wednesday is a good compromise #pjs

  12. I wouldn’t want to be seen dead in mine.

  13. The high forehead was part of the ideal look in terms of Elizabethan beauty. So wear your aristocratic appearance proudly.

  14. Pingback: Författare och bussar | Bookwitch på svenska

Leave a Reply

