Christmas Fairy

My fairies tend to be a little larger than those Titania Woods writes about. I’m sure there exists several species of fairy. Titania’s fairies are just the right size to go on top of the Christmas tree, or as in the case of this Christmas story, inside the tree.

Twink is on her her winter holidays when she suddenly decides to play the heroine and save a tree from being chopped down in the woods. Instead she ends up coming home with the “naughty” human, who doesn’t believe in fairies.

Luckily his daughter does, so Twink has someone to help her, and before too long the human parents see the light, too. Both species learn something from the other, and the reader gets to have a little think about the damage we inflict on mother nature in the name of almost everything.

I’m just that little bit too old for this kind of fairy story, but it’s absolutely perfect for younger (and I suspect, female) readers. And it’s only because I am a crotchety old witch, that I would have enjoyed the pages of the book much more without all those decorative drawings round the edge of every single page. Sorry, Titania. It’s my minimalist tendencies coming out here. I expect the right reader will appreciate the woodland garlands.

7 responses to “Christmas Fairy

  1. Indeed, I suspect you probably aren’t Titania’s ideal audience. Curiously, fairy Titania has a human changeling who is also an author, and her books are so strikingly different that it’s almost inconceivable that the two writers could be, shall we say, acquainted with one another.

  2. I know, Nick. I’m seriously concerned about two such different sides to one person. Tried very hard not to mention “the other one” here. In fact, I doubt I would have read this if I hadn’t had such respect for LW.

  3. it could well be that this is the true LW – the gritty, edgy teenage writing one was just a sham for this cuddly girly one. i hear she wears tiaras on a daily basis these days.

  4. Tiaras? In Basingstoke? Wow.

  5. Ahem. Titania is here, and reading every word.

    Sorry that Christmas Fairy wasn’t your cup of tea, Ann. It’s true, I do have a rather pink and girly side – which I discovered when I found myself squealing ecstatically over the first sight of my Glitterwings covers.

    I’m not sure which is the ‘true’ me – er, do I have to choose? I love my fairies, and also love my teenage fiction. (Though I have to say that the teen stuff isn’t anywhere near as much pure, unadulterated fun to write.) To add further confusion to the mix, I like writing adult non-fiction as well. Oh dear! Obviously a hopeless schizophrenic… 😉

    Re tiaras: take it from me, they’re even better when you add fairy wings.

  6. Oh, Titania, I agree with you on covers. I liked the cover a great deal. In fact, it was only my short temper when I went to your website to steal a cover image for here, and failed to catch any of those floaty fairies, which prevented me from illustrating this blog post.

    But having started my Temple Grandin reading at long last, I have much better understanding re visual things, and garlands on every page was too much. But then Titania shouldn’t make a book to suit the over-fifties…

    And I did like the book, or it wouldn’t have made it on here at all. I just don’t see myself reading all of them for my personal reading needs, which is why I was so pleased to find a single book I could read.

    The speed at which you write is so frightening, that I just couldn’t see where to begin.

    Even the Resident IT Consultant looked at the book, before being scared away by its fairyness.

  7. I’ve just discovered my inner fairy, after half a century thinking I’d never be a glimmer-girl! And to my mind, the more flowery, glittery fairyness the better! Way to go, Titania – the world needs more wings!
    Linda

Leave a Reply

