Raising the Titanic

The Titanic might not be the first thing you’d consider if you wanted to sink (sorry) your money into something worthwhile. But this is a children’s book, and I’m hoping it will float more than it will get dreadfully wet.

When I first met Colin Bateman, he was shortlisted for the Bolton Children’s Book Award with his Titanic 2020. It was the book back then that I never got round to reading. I’m hoping I can mend my ways now, but obviously only if people cough up a little bit of cash.

Colin has set off on another Kickstarter campaign, and needs £2000 to put the Titanic back on the shelves in bookshops. You can pay as little as £1 and you have until April 7th, which I estimate to be three weeks from now.

There are various sweeteners involved, and you can look at the menu on Colin’s page for this. At the time of writing, ten people have pledged £340. The urge to hand over some money, just to see the numbers change, is almost irrestistible.

But I will have to. Resist, I mean. My job here is to make you want to fail the resistance test. Go on, be a patron of the arts, for a few quid.

One response to “Raising the Titanic

  1. Today that’s 14 supporters pledging £480.

Leave a Reply

