St George and me

And we’re off. Not this very minute, if you’re an early reader. But barring horrific delays and mishaps and calamities, this is the day.

Does it seem like an un-English thing to move out of the country on St George’s day? ‘snot intentional.

It’s World Book Day. The real WBD, I mean. So I suppose it makes sense that a Bookwitch moves around in the world, a little.

Shakespeare kicked the bucket on this date, and when I looked it up, lots more people as well. Not Cervantes, for some obscure reason. I had laboured under the impression that he and William died on the same day, but Don Quijote’s creator has shifted to a day earlier. Oh, well.

Some were even born on April 23rd. Ngaio Marsh. Halldór Laxness.

Oh look, there’s the dragon..!!!

2 responses to “St George and me

  1. odetteelliott6

    Happy landings Bookwitch! I wonder if I’ll ever meet you. I expect to come to the Edinburgh Festival book events this summer. One of our daughters lives in Scotland. There are so many lovely places to visit. In fact, soon we are off to visit the Isle of Mull.

  2. We were saying some seaside would be nice.

Leave a Reply

