Sick reading

I’ve been feeling off-colour with my specially imported Glaswegian lurgy this week. So I’ve read more than average, because when you feel weak and achey sometimes reading is all you can do.

As I was grasping my current book – in the middle of the night – I suddenly remembered other books read while feeling under the weather. And it made me wonder why books read during times of incapacitation remain more memorable. Not better, necessarily, but I suppose illness reinforces the memory. Somehow.

(I could tell you what I read Easter 2007, for instance.)

The other thing I’ve mused about (all this thinking can’t be healthy) is why it’s so hard to find enough time to read, when it makes me feel much better. Even without the lurgy.

Kirkland Ciccone at his celebration party

The drawback this week was having to cancel going to Kirkland Ciccone’s celebration in Kilsyth. ‘Where?’ I hear you ask. Somewhere fairly near Bookwitch Towers, although even my native Resident IT Consultant wasn’t totally sure exactly where.

Kirkland Ciccone celebration party

It was (would have been) an opportunity to celebrate Kirkland winning the Catalyst Award for Conjuring the Infinite. I understand there was – almost – unlimited Monster Munch. And a red carpet. They know how to party in Kilsyth.

Kirkland Ciccone celebration party

To prove how mentally challenged I’ve been, I went as far as addressing this noble award winner as Kirkie… I’m so very sorry. It won’t happen again.

One response to “Sick reading

  1. Reblogged this on Grrr! It's Kirkland Ciccone and commented:
    Courtesy of The Bookwitch!

Leave a Reply

