My Christmas conundrum

I know it’s still September, but only just. The shops are already full of Christmas stuff. Saw some ugly trees at Dobbies the other day, and was disappointed, as this year I might actually be interested in a new tree (on account of the old one possibly not fitting into the new house so well). But I wouldn’t dream of buying it now.

Though that is perhaps my problem. I should buy now, while stocks last.

It’s not trees I wanted to discuss, of course, but books. In the book world they start being sold in October. It will be October in only a couple of days. I have had a pile of Christmas books lying around for weeks and weeks. The latest one to arrive I browsed through and found myself slipping into a Christmassy mood and that was way too early. Off to the premature Christmas pile with it!

I used to think that if I read them early and wrote reviews I could then post them on the blog close to Christmas. Handy. But I worked out that by the time we all feel more or less Christmassy in mid-December, no one will be reading reviews or going out to buy seasonal books for their little ones.

So December is too late. Maybe. When is the right time? If you ever want to read reviews of books with a Christmas theme, rather than suggestions of a book to buy as a Christmas present, when do you want it?

When would you buy it?

And who buys them and for whom? Is it as a Christmas present, or just as something December-ish to read to your tiny person (or give a slightly bigger tiny person to read themselves) to get into a Christmas mood?

I don’t remember Offspring being given anything like that, even by me. I think that any books featuring Christmas I got for me to read to them, to enjoy as December strolled along. So perhaps they aren’t presents?

It seems stupid to ask, but I just don’t know what purpose the books have, or who would buy them. Or when the ultimate time for reviews of them would be.

I have blogged before about my fondness for Rosamunde Pilcher’s Winter Solstice which is the perfect book to read in December. Or the various Advent-y books to read a little bit of every day, like those by Cornelia Funke or Jostein Gaarder. Those you do need to know about in time, or it’d be too late when Christmas arrives.

I’m not ready to read or review the Christmas pile yet. Are you?

4 responses to “My Christmas conundrum

  1. In our house we have a box of well-loved Christmas books which comes down every year on the first Sunday in advent and not a moment sooner. We dip into it throughout the Christmas season – but I always read Joyce Dunbar and Gary Blythe’s This is the Star at least once. I love the simple, repetitive, but profound re-telling and the illustrations never fail to take my breath away.

  2. You sound like my kind of Christmas reader. You also sound like I’d be wasting my breath trying to get you interested in a new book to join your box. In fact, that’s the whole thing with Christmas. Tradition. Same procedure as last year and all that.
    Maybe the new books are the ones which might join a future box for really young readers. The start of a new tradition. But they need to be good for that, and not just a little Christmassy.

  3. Traditions are good – but new books make it into the box too. But you’re right, they have to be good. And, whisper it, some even get removed…

  4. Oh. Do they? Sacrilege…

Leave a Reply

