Topping & Company Booksellers

So, two days after Kirkland Ciccone’s crazy bookshop tour, saw your Bookwitch in St Andrews, in the brand new branch of Topping & Company Booksellers (to call them by their long and proper name; from now on Topping’s). I, too, am crazy like that. I had a[nother] Christmas tree to deliver, so decided to kill both tree and new bookshop with the one stone.

Topping & Company Booksellers, St Andrews

You might recall I had pressed my nose against the shop window during my bookshop crawl on my last visit. Now I didn’t dare, as the shop was nice and done and open and I’m certain the window was lovely and clean.

Topping & Company Booksellers, St Andrews

Instead I went in, followed by the Resident IT Consultant and Daughter, on standby to catch me if I looked like I might get my wallet out (my sincere apologies to Topping’s). And let me tell you, the shop is so wonderful that any wallet is at great risk. Even mine. (It actually broke yesterday…)

Topping & Company Booksellers, St Andrews

This was my first visit to a Topping’s, and I can quite see what all the fuss is about. I’m most grateful to my favourite Hodder publicist, who was the one to tell me this new shop was on the cards. If I leave my wallet at home, I can see I might be allowed to return to this haven.

Topping & Company Booksellers, St Andrews

Topping & Company Booksellers, St Andrews

The place was full of people. Much fuller than the photos suggest, as I tried to avoid people so you can see the books and the shelves and the ladders and the chairs and tables, and the woodburning stove and anything else. Sofas. Little rooms at the back. Window overlooking some local wilderness. And all this just round the corner from the Students’ Union.

Topping & Company Booksellers, St Andrews

Topping & Company Booksellers, St Andrews

Charming children’s books corner, containing what you’d want and expect, plus rather a lot more. Pleased to see Nicola Morgan’s Stress on the reference shelf.

Topping & Company Booksellers, St Andrews

Topping & Company Booksellers, St Andrews

They have a lot of signed first editions, including Terry Pratchett’s Dodger, which is quite a feat I feel.

Topping & Company Booksellers, St Andrews

I located a man who looked like he might be Mr Topping himself, and he was. It seems that one reason behind the new branch is that he has done what the Bookwitch just did; moved to Scotland. He will be running the St Andrews shop.

Topping & Company Booksellers, St Andrews

I suppose all this is what you can expect from a man who was sacked by Waterstones for selling too many books.

Topping & Company Booksellers, St Andrews

4 responses to “Topping & Company Booksellers

  1. Speaking as a former bookseller I think it would be rather a problem for Toppings if too many people followed your lead and left their wallets at home. Yes, they’d have an inspirational time in the ‘haven’ but then the temptation would be to slide out the plastic and use it on line. Perhaps Toppings have an internet sales facility? There’ll always be temptation for a book lover. A book SHOP is the best place to succumb.

  2. I consider my task to be that of letting readers know about books too good to miss, and I generally like suggesting that they go to buy the book NOW. I tend to feel guilty about not suggesting they use their library. I want bookshops to survive, and authors, as well. (Libraries, too, obviously.)

    As for opening my wallet; well, circumstances have made doing so as rarely as possible a necessity. The joke was on me, not on bookshops. And I was complimenting Mr Topping on making a shop that is so tempting that I might forget.

  3. Nice place. Really should have included it on our recent tour. If only I’d paid more attention in class I’d have known of its existence.

  4. It wasn’t open then, Keith. First day yesterday. Sorry, I should have said. But you’ll know for your next madcap visit.

Leave a Reply

