I can’t wait

It usually annoys me when people say that. Because it’s usually about some thing that you do have to wait for. So, you obviously can wait, because you must.

At the moment I must. Don’t want to, but I must.

It is Elizabeth Wein’s next book. New book. Soon book, but not soon enough. Black Dove, White Raven is the title, and I feel as if I’ve been waiting forever, after my erroneous understanding it was going to be here last summer. I believe it’s ‘only’ a couple of more weeks now, but still. That’s long. I suppose it won’t be when we get there, but right now I feel a wee bit impatient.

I know I’ve mentioned it before, and as you can tell, I am mentioning it again now. Before I’ve read it, I mean. If it were to replace my second most favourite book, Code Name Verity – also by Elizabeth – I’d be surprised. But I wouldn’t mind, because it would mean it’s a truly marvellous book.

Sometimes a tremendously good book early in the year makes me nervous, in case there is nothing to match it for another ten or so months. On the other hand; you will know the year has offered you something special. Although this year already has, in the shape of Sally Gardner’s The Door That Led To Where. Elizabeth will have to fight it out with her.

But then fighting might not be hard for a woman who thinks nothing of spending a summer strapped to the outside of a small plane, for research purposes. I think we can expect the aerobatics in Black Dove, White Raven to be realistic, as will the flying. We already know Elizabeth writes well about pilots, as both her two recent novels feature girl pilots. The new book – set in the 1930s – will give us two more, one of whom will set out for Ethiopia and a new life there, with two small children, to become part of the Emperor’s new air force of imported black pilots.

I have no idea where this book will be going, but I’m convinced I’ll want to tag along.

(This post has been picked up by Tombola Times and ITV as one of their top ten releases 2015.)

Leave a Reply

