Height matters

We are slowly putting books onto the ‘new’ shelves. The Resident IT Consultant couldn’t wait, so got working on his four last boxes, the contents of which I had, in a moment of excessive generosity, said he could put on ‘my’ shelves. As long as he put them in double rows. They are only IT books, so can be obscure at the back, at the bottom.

That’s what I think. Anyway, with my crummy eyesight, I can’t see book titles at awkward distances, nor can I bend down to browse in stupid places. The latter has less to do with eyes than knees, though. So my books are going to be in the best spots.

I was hoping he would see the light, and perhaps get rid of a few more books while doing this final sorting. I stood and watched as he worked, since I had a short break from kitchen duties, when he got to a rather tall book. It wouldn’t fit. Wondering if I needed to offer it to share with my picture books on a taller shelf, I never had time to say anything before he muttered, ‘well if it doesn’t fit, that might be a good reason to get rid of it.’ And with that it went on the discard pile. Oh, the happiness of it!

For me. I expect the book was less impressed. Let that be a lesson to you. Make books too enormous, for no obvious reason, and out they go. Possibly never in, in the first place.

3 responses to “Height matters

  1. Height does matter, I do love the feeling of a good book though and sometimes its that height that gives it just enough mystery for you to pick it up.

  2. Hmm. I have discovered that most of the self-published books printed through Lulu do not fit on a normal height shelf. And that annoys me. Large hardbacks that are too tall also irritate, but tall paperbacks?

  3. Outsize paperbacks did not fit well on the shelves at the bookstore I worked in either and I always wondered why publishers, if not authors, didn’t realize that this wasn’t to their benefit. The book would invariably be crammed in sideways or otherwise made less noticeable, not more. No one is going to rearrange a standard shelf size for one paperback when they have so many others to fit in.

Leave a Reply

