Fife farmer tours Scotland!

Attention please! James Oswald’s fifth crime novel, Prayer for the Dead, is out today. And no, I’ve not read it. Yet.

But I was happy to see that James will be doing a whirlwind tour round Scotland to meet the fans. He blogged the dates, and I happened to see the link on facebook. Now, I would have liked more notice for the launch in Edinburgh this evening. I don’t believe I will be able to make it. Probably. But it’s good to know that James will cover a decent number of Waterstones all over Scotland.

One of his facebook friends pointed out that there are bookshops in London too. There obviously are. But I’m really glad that the list is Scotland only, and not because I want to deprive anyone. I just feel it’s useful for Londoners to see that there is literary life up north. And that James isn’t being flown in to appear at Waterstones Piccadilly, or anything. They have enough going on as it is.

And as James points out on his website, he actually needs to do some farming as well. Those animals don’t look after themselves, or at least, I don’t think they do. I’m guessing they want feeding and watering, or whatever it is sheep and cattle require.

At Bookwitch Towers we are busy catching up. The Resident IT Consultant was unpacking my books (yeah, I know I already mentioned this), when he got to the ominously labelled Last Books box. What that means is they are the books I read as we were packing last March/April, which didn’t make it into the other boxes.

I’d already forbidden him from reading James’s third Tony McLean novel, because he hadn’t actually read the second, and I said the spoilers were such he’d thank me for it. But recently he was finally able to tackle The Book of Souls as it was unpacked along with most of the adult fiction. Number three only emerged yesterday, so I rewarded the Resident IT Consultant for his hard work on children’s fiction by saying he could read The Hangman’s Song now.

Meanwhile, I hurriedly claimed Dead Men’s Bones, number four, for myself, in case he has designs on reading it before me. And then, before I even got started, I found out about number five…

This post was brought to you by the letter F.

3 responses to “Fife farmer tours Scotland!

  1. You know I have never been to an author signing or event. I imagine it would be great. I have to look into this in my area and write about the experience. Im sure it would be good for me on so many levels. I hope you enjoy the Meet and greet!

  2. Sorry about the last minute announcement. Annoyingly I only found out myself where it was happening a few days earlier. Publicity departments are wonderful things, but sometimes I think I’d be better off organising it all myself!

    The event itself was fun, but mostly friends and family since nobody else knew it was happening! Hopefully the other events will be better attended as they get a bit more lead time. I’d love to do a few London signings, and other big English cities too, but so far it doesn’t make sense financially, sadly, and anything that means an overnight stay is problematical because of the farm.

    Great to hear you’re enjoying the books though, and spreading the word! Thank you so much!

  3. I was only mock complaining, James. As long as you and the family had fun…
    Will chase you round parts of Scotland, all things being equal.

Leave a Reply

