Harrogate

Now I dream of Harrogate. Me, who has never even made it to Betty’s Tea Rooms. 27 years in the Northwest and not a single trip to Harrogate…

Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Writing Weekend is not something I have seriously considered going to before, especially as it takes place in mid-July, which is a time fraught with holiday plans and trips to Sweden. And things. Last year I felt dismay when I heard JK Rowling was attending, but quickly dismissed this negative thought.

And now, now there are more people who draw me there and I so want to go. Sara Paretsky will be there, and so early that a day trip is out of the question, and all those Northern Irish boys I’m fond of, including Adrian McKinty back in the Northern hemisphere. James Oswald. Stieg Larsson, except he’s not, of course.

I looked at all the suggested crime hotels for the weekend and they look positively irresistible, straight out of an Agatha Christie novel.

It’s still the middle of July, however. And I know for a fact that when the time comes I will be pleased not to be going to yet one more place, or more events.

But right now I’m at the point where I want to!

6 responses to “Harrogate

  1. You need to go.

  2. You need to go, Bookwitch. I listed the more attractive of my relatives on eBay. They only just about scraped the money together, but still…

  3. Easy for you to say.
    I’m quite fond of my children, when I think of them.

  4. I’m also tempted by Sara Paretsky event – though as I only live in Leeds it’s not a temptation I need to resist!

  5. Do you think it’s calculation on their part to put Sara in at nine in the morning? Get people out of bed for a big name and then you have a captive audience.

  6. Well, I would hope they would be that crafty.

Leave a Reply

