Good Colours

Aino-Maija Metsola’s Colours may well be the most perfect ‘educational’ boardbook in existence.

Let me make a confession here. I have a thing about colours. I like to load glasses and mugs and similar into the dishwasher in a pleasing way, colour-wise. Same with hanging the washing. If I can, I will put things that look good next to each other. Likewise wardrobe contents. And so on.

Aino-Maija Metsola, Colours

So it stands to reason that a book about colour, which has a double page for each colour is very near perfect. If things are to be orange, they are all orange together. The yellows are the pages before the oranges. Each double page also has one ‘wrong’ colour which doesn’t belong, for the young reader to find the odd one out.

I don’t mind this so much, as the cuckoos in the nest are fairly small and in no way ruin the beautiful arrangement of reds or blues or purples. And there are flaps to lift, which is always fun.

Aino-Maija is Finnish, with a Marimekko past, which explains the colour sorting. I don’t usually hang on to boardbooks once I’ve ‘read’ them, but this time I’m tempted. Orderly colours are really very soothing.

2 responses to “Good Colours

  1. I think we need to get hold of a copy of this for the New Member. Not that I can actually sit and read it with the wee mite yet, given our current purdah-due-to-whooping-cough status, but still…. What a stylish and yes, soothing book. Did you ever see the DK colours book? We languished over its pages, the girls and I- they adored pink page, I loved white.

  2. No, I didn’t. Sounds great with a pink page. White? Really? All pages are white.

Leave a Reply

