Romantically educated

If you don’t know it, it doesn’t exist. Or so it seems. I was intrigued to read a travel article in the Guardian about the islands along the North Carolina coastline, where its author Douglas Rogers had not been aware that this state has lovely beaches. That it’s not just Cape Cod or Florida that matter on the east coast.

I’ve never been, so in a way I’m clearly more ignorant than he was. But, I had one thing going for me; I used to read – far too many – romantic novels. And I mean the Mills & Boon/Harlequin type. The American ones I found to be not only fresher than the UK old style romances, but really most educational too. No, not in that way.

Geography, lifestyle, idioms, food. That sort of thing. Even if a romantic novel is likely to idealise life and love, I assume that what people eat, and the region in which they live, will still be relatively authentic.

So, I knew, and liked, islands like Hatteras and Ocracoke a long time ago. I felt I’d like to visit, if it weren’t for the fact that to begin with it’s the other side of the Atlantic, and then NC is some way away, and the islands even more so. The description the Outer Banks, makes me feel agoraphobic just thinking about the journey there.

I’m most likely not going, but I do reckon they sound just my kind of place. I can’t remember a thing about any of the actual romances set there, but the islands themselves remain strongly in my memory. Which just goes to prove that reading broadens the mind, [almost] whatever the book it is.

6 responses to “Romantically educated

  1. As it happens, I’m very likely to go to one Carolina or the other, or both this fall. And no, I’ve never been either.

  2. Take photos! Of the beaches, the houses, and any nice men you find, please.

  3. I just googled Hatteras Island and what a beautiful place – amazing. And so great you heard about it through Mills and Boon! I’ve learnt most of what fills my brain from TV, but I never thought to learn through romantic fiction🙂

  4. See, rubbish is not all bad.

  5. Well, neither my photography skills or my non-smart phone are up to all that much, but I’m sure someone will take pictures.

  6. You might enjoy the romantic mysteries of Carolyn Hart, set on an island off the coast of South Carolina.

Leave a Reply

