I will have had my tea

The Resident IT Consultant gave me nettle seeds, and a book covered with thistles, for my birthday.

Well, there was a book under the cover, and it’s not as thorny as it sounds. In fact, I’m pretty impressed he managed to smuggle this gift in his luggage, considering I’m the boss here.

A Dictionary of Scottish Phrase and Fable by Ian Crofton, was either chosen for me because I complain I don’t understand what people say. Or – and this is more likely – because he himself wanted to read this book. It’s all very well me owning a huge 500+ pages of a book of explanations to what people are saying, but first I need to catch what they say, which is harder than working out the meaning of it.

I’m fond of the phrase ‘ye’ll have had yer tea’ but I didn’t know it’s what Glaswegians claim people in Edinburgh say to them when they visit. And apparently Ned is not an acronym for non-educated delinquent, which is a disappointment.

As for nicknames I once saw Badger in the queue for security at Edinburgh airpost.  The Broon turned up in Charlotte Square a couple of times when I was there. And we have just had to say goodbye to Champagne Charlie.

(Alistair Darling, Gordon Brown, Charles Kennedy.)

Curry Alley sounds nice, but it seems most of the curry houses in this Glasgow street have disappeared. Flit is what we did last year, and it’s not hard to see it’s almost the same as the Swedish flytta. Gilmerton Cove turned up in a recent crime novel, so I have clearly picked up a very little bit of knowledge this year.

And you simply ‘cannae shove yer granny aff a bus.’ It would be most unkind. Besides, she might ‘mak a fraik aboot’ it.

I’ll be a while reading my way through this tome.

8 responses to “I will have had my tea

  1. It’s a whole new world, isn’t it? Happy Birthday.

  2. odetteelliott6

    I don’t know whether this is explicitly Scottish, but a while ago I met a farmer from the Isle of Bute. He told me that he owned several thousand sheep, but people were always stealing some. I thought his word picture was memorable. He said “They’d steal the milk from your tea if they could!”

  3. Ever heard ‘I’m sorry I haven’t a clue’ – a comedy show on Radio 4? They have two returning characters, Hamish and Dougal, who always introduce themselves with ‘You’ll have had your tea’. They even did a spin off show called ‘You’ll have had your tea’ centred round the characters.
    It certainly takes a while to get used to certain phrases. Here in Bristol it was ‘Where’s it to?’ which threw me when I heard it. It only means ‘where is it?’ but I didn’t understand at all. The joys of colloquialisms🙂

  4. I’m late to the party on this post, but when we moved to Ayrshire having spent the 9 previous (and my formative) years in the south of England, I was completely confused when asked “Whit ye saying tae it?” (“What are you saying to it?”, I would translate in my head, and then be none the wiser.) I *think* it just meant “How are you?”

  5. I’m pretty sure that’s what was meant – it just defies all laws of translation!

Leave a Reply

