Authors select their YA summer reads!

And because authors are lovely, helpful people, this morning I can offer you a list of their recommended reads for summer:

Rhian Ivory, The Boy who Drew the Future
Rhian Ivory (The Boy Who Drew The Future, out September 2015) – Mine would be Under My Skin by James Dawson which I’ve just read because there’s not much else out there like it. It is about feminism, friendship and the power one person can have over another.
Natasha Ngan (The Elites) – I have this thing about re-reading Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone series on summer holidays! It’s just so magical and immersive, but easy to read.
Sangu Mandanna (The Lost Girl) – Anything by Sarah Dessen! Her books always pack an emotional punch but also have loads of humour and always feel really beachy.
Rachel Hamilton (The Case of the Exploding Brains) – Mine would be Who Framed Klaris Cliff? by Nikki Sheehan. It’s an original and brilliantly creative exploration of a world where imaginary friends are viewed as dangerous and in need of the ‘cosh’. I found it clever and gripping and it kept me thinking long after I’d finished it.
Alex Campbell (Land) – I still carry Rainbow Rowell’s ‘Eleanor & Park’ round in my heart, trying to work out its magic
.
Kendra Leighton (Glimpse) – I’d recommend Lobsters by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivision. Perfect beach reading — it’s about two teens’ summer holidays, and is lighthearted and very funny, yet so ‘real’ it made me ache to be 17 again.
Kate Ormand (Dark Days) – Kasie West’s On The Fence for me.
Nikki Sheehan (Who Framed Klaris Cliff?) – My name’s not Friday by Jon Walter. I’m only half way through, but it’s so gripping. It’s about a boy who is sold into slavery in the US. A bit like a YA version of 10 years a slave (so far anyway) and I think it’s going to be HUGE.

Eve Ainsworth, 7 Days

Helen Douglas (Chasing Stars) – I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson, because it’s full of love and art, and so beautifully written.
Helen Grant (Urban Legends) – Keren David’s This Is Not A Love Story. I could totally imagine myself reading that in a bar by a canal in Amsterdam.
Susie Day (The Secrets of Sam and Sam, out this month) – Catherine Johnson’s The Curious Tale of the Lady Caraboo: deception, intrigue and romance in this historical drama, based on a true story.
Susie Day, The Secrets of Sam & Sam

Eve Ainsworth (Seven Days) – I’m about to dive into Emma Haughton’s book Better Left Buried. Looks fab and a perfect pacy read for the beach.

One response to “Authors select their YA summer reads!

  1. That’s a great list! I will have to start adding to my goodreads shelf!

Leave a Reply

