Readaxing

One afternoon some time ago I felt pretty awful. Not sure there was a particular reason, except I had a lot on my to-do list, and not so much afternoon, or even day, left.

There was some small task I thought I could – should – do before whatever else it was I was going to do at a specific point in time. But the more I thought about it, the clearer it became to me that I just had to do something which wasn’t on the to-do list at all.

I needed to read. So I assigned that small task to oblivion – or maybe to later that evening – and sat down with a book. Not for long, but long enough to calm down a little.

And then, by that funny thing called coincidence, my inbox offered me Nicola Morgan’s latest Brain Sane newsletter, where she just happened to mention readaxation.

Which is precisely what I’d been practising. Nicola is a wise woman, and I wasn’t too crazy either, recognising my need to readax.

Why do we feel more guilt over pausing a to-do phase to read, when a brief moment to cram paracetamol down your throat for some headache or other, seems perfectly acceptable? The book has fewer (bad) side effects. Almost none, in fact, unless you trip over it on the floor.

(I’m carefully not mentioning knee injuries caused by standing up after sitting down comfortably to read. And I know what I said about guilt feelings. On holiday right now I have read an unusual number of books. Which is good. And then I suffer pangs of guilt because I’ve not done enough ‘holiday’ stuff. You can’t win. Still, readaxing is good. Very good.)

Now, let me just peel the potatoes…

2 responses to “Readaxing

  1. Hooray for readaxation! I’m very glad it helped you that day. Excellent point abut the paracetamol, too. And reading can be free, thanks to our libraries. Enjoy the rest of your holiday!

  2. Recently, I read somewhere that reading is one of the most relaxing things to do. Great to reduce stress. So yes for readaxing!
    Glad it helped you that day, especially when it’s an alternative for medicines.

Leave a Reply

