Book’s in the post

When those lovely picture books arrive, the postman will huff and puff until he somehow gets rid of the book. Usually not through the hole in the door, which is better suited to bills and love letters.

So I think it’s a great idea to shrink the picture book a little, until it will go in the post like almost everything else.

Debi Gliori’s The Tobermory Cat has been turned into a postal book. What that means is that the formerly normal sized picture book now looks more like an over-enthusiastic greetings card. You write the address on the cover. You add a message (You’d better enjoy this book!) and stick a stamp on, and post. And it will fit the openings of both the red postbox on the corner of the street, as well as the lucky recipient’s front door or roadside letterbox.

It is a little smaller. Quite a bit smaller, in fact. But somehow you don’t notice, because the book looks just as nice as the original. It’s just as easy to read. And if you have a dozen nieces and nephews or grandchildren; just get the same number of books and post away.

Debi Gliori, The Tobermory Cat

(If someone could advise what I should do, I’d be most grateful. 1) Keep the sweet little thing. 2) Send it to some nice child somewhere.)

5 responses to “Book’s in the post

  1. i think i had this book as a child, it’s really cute!

  2. Now if only I could apply the same shrinking principle to my waistline, I’d be in business…
    Glad you like the bonsai book ; a small copse of trees will have cause to thank us.

  3. Wonderful. A new pressie for my niece! *Just like Debi, I also require a shrinking principle to my waistline even though I consider myself to be a portly babe*

  4. Keep it. Someone had to say it.

Leave a Reply

