Carnegie medal nominations 2016

While you wait for me to wake up and tell you other stuff, I will just mention the almost completely fresh list of books nominated for the 2016 Carnegie medal.

It’s long, it has some good books on it, and, well, it’s almost impossible to guess who will win. I can probably guess which books – of the ones I’ve read – will make the longlist, and even some for the shortlist. But then there are the books I’ve not read, and they won’t all be insignificant. In fact, none of them can be, or they wouldn’t be listed here in the first place.

Sally Gardner’s The Door That Led to Where, aka the third best book ever [according to Bookwitch] will most likely do well. As, I hope, will the new book by Bookwitch second best book author Elizabeth Wein, Black Dove, White Raven.

3 responses to “Carnegie medal nominations 2016

  1. My neighbour from 8 doors down (Kerr Thomson) is on it!

  2. That neighbour again?

  3. Hmm. It’ll be a very tough choice. I’m wavering between Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda, Seven Days, One, A Song For Ella Grey, and Black Dove, White Raven. The winner has to be one of those books, or so I hope.

Leave a Reply

