Home and dry

We needed a new dishwasher a few days ago. I surprised the Resident IT Consultant by picking the cheapest one in the white goods shop. That’s not like me at all. Generally my tastes are so good that I have to fall for the more expensive item, whatever I am buying.

Failing machines are a topic of woe on social media, and some people kill off more appliances than others. When an authoral (yes, I’m sure that’s a word) tumble dryer bit the dust during the busy run-up to Christmas, I suggested they consider the electrically heated airer we got last year from the shop where you just can’t not buy something, whether you visit the shop or look through their catalogue.

The author conceded it looked good, and then wondered if the family cats would simply lie down underneath it. (I’m sure they will.) The eldest teenager of the family is then reported to have said she’d probably sleep there too.

And the heat deprivation does not end there. One of our leading children’s books critics joined in, saying he/she would happily sleep next to one of these airers as well.

I foresee a crowd. It’s cold in the book world.

Leave a Reply

