The parcel

Jenny Colgan, Polly and the Puffin parcel

‘An interesting parcel came for you,’ said the Resident IT Consultant when I returned home from my travels. ‘Doesn’t look like a book,’ he added.

He was right. It was a fairly unusual shape. On the other hand, if it was for me it had to be a book. But I thought it just about could be a Nimbus 2000, if I was really lucky. That would be the thing to bribe a Bookwitch with.

And then he kept pestering me to open it. But each thing has its time and there was plenty that had to be done before I was ready to deal with this new broomstick. Or not, as the case might be.

So, this is what I found:

Jenny Colgan, Polly and the Puffin parcel

Jenny Colgan, Polly and the Puffin parcel

Jenny Colgan, Polly and the Puffin umbrella

Jenny Colgan, Polly and the Puffin

Not a Nimbus at all, although the kind of nimbus that produces rain would be thwarted by the nice, spotty umbrella my parcel turned out to contain. It’s also got that special 1960s plastic smell. Made me feel very nostalgic.

And I was right. It was a book, too. Two books, to be precise. They look quite promising, and I say this because they do, and not because Jenny Colgan was very kind to me a few years ago, without knowing me, and without having to. I obviously can’t be bribed; either by umbrella or poppable bubblewrap.

Sniff.

Pop.

Leave a Reply

