I love you, Barrington Stoke

Did I mention my feelings for Barrington Stoke before? Can’t be said often enough.

I have got to the stage where I could happily read nothing but Barrington Stoke books. Well, almost. There are a few people whose ‘ordinary’ books I do want to read, as well, but if fate intervened and I was told I could only read Barrington Stoke, I’d not exactly be suffering.

Why are they so good? My current theory is that it’s because Barrington Stoke commission books from authors; be they long established, or more recent. None of this sitting in the garret for the authors, writing, hoping to be published, fearing they might not be.

Already published authors are rejected far too often these days. Even very good ones. And here I mean good authors, and good books. Perhaps because they don’t happen to fit the very latest image of what a publisher is trying to do. Never mind that readers are waiting for the next book from those whose work they have enjoyed previously.

And maybe because small is beautiful? There have been slightly more ‘normal’ length novels coming my way recently, by which I mean 200-250 pages. I rejoice every time. Longer is not better.

Barrington Stoke certainly know how to publish a marvellous story in 85 pages or thereabouts, without making you feel as if you’re being sold short. As the books are both brief and – for me – easy to read, I have more time for more stories by more authors. It’s a win-win situation.

A couple of weeks ago I began reading a 500p adult crime novel, which I’d looked forward to. It was intended as a treat. I gave up on it after a few chapters. Yes, maybe it would have got more interesting, but I couldn’t help feeling that it ought to have started interestingly, if it had such intentions. Besides, I had loads more books to choose from, and the next in line was a Barrington Stoke, and it delivered 100% satisfaction.

So that was proper long adult novel 0 – children’s short dyslexia friendly book 1. This happens a lot. 💜

Leave a Reply

