Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

I was filled with a nice warm glow reading the new Harry Potter stage play, enjoying myself a lot and just letting myself feel good about returning to a place I used to love.

And I think that’s OK. Others can have other views, and we’d all be right, in our own way. I believe we had been told there’d be no more Harry, but I see no reason why a person can’t change their mind. Also, this is not the same as another novel; it is merely revisiting people and places we know from before.

I am generally a sucker for finding out ‘what happened after’ and this is a good example. Not everything in the lives of Harry and his friends is perfect, but we see what they’re up to now, and how relationships have continued and developed, and we meet the next generation.

J K Rowling, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Young Albus Severus Potter is a complicated boy, but he is his own person. He’s not a copy of his dad. And he shows us that you can find friends in the most unexpected quarters.

It’d be interesting to see how this works out on the stage, but I have no idea if I’ll be up to sitting for so many hours, should I get hold of tickets at some point in the far future. I might hold out for the film.

And I’m guessing we can’t have more after this. That really would be taking it too far. Or would it?

(And another thing; this teaches millions of fans that you can read drama. That there are other kinds of texts apart from novels.)

8 responses to “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. I’d been reading this on the train in on Monday, and couldn’t stop thinking about it when Anthony McGowan was ranting about YA and older women…
    🙂

  2. I very much like that last point about reading drama scripts, Bookwitch. Well said..

  3. Reading a script is very different to reading a novel. I think some people don’t get that and I feel like that is part of the reason that some fans have reacted badly to this new installment.
    I actually thought it was a well written play. I have read a few plays and this one had good flow and I could imagine parts of it reasonably well (although I haven’t figured out how they would do the parts in the lake haha).
    There were only one or two parts that I thought were odd, but I enjoyed the story and the dynamic and I liked the idea and realism of what happened after. It doesn’t always end in happily ever after. There’s more learning to do after Hogwarts🙂

  4. I WANT TO READ IT BADLY…..
    But I couldn’t afford the book -.- it’s damnly expensive

  5. Library?
    Here they halved the price pretty quickly.

  6. It works really well on stage – I only read it after seeing it, and felt that some of the issues with the plot and characters were more obvious on the page, without the distractions of the staging and magic, but both were fun.
    I do like Scorpius and the development of Draco’s character, in particular.

Leave a Reply

