The Glump and the Peeble

Wendy Meddour and Rebecca Ashdown, The Glump and the Peeble

We often want to be what we are not. That goes for me too, but I can sense I am more Glump than anything else. I don’t think I’ve got even a little Peeble in me.

But then, it could turn out that other readers of Wendy Meddour’s and Rebecca Ashdown’s new picture book The Glump and the Peeble are my complete opposites, and are Peebles wishing for more Glumpness.

This is a book about being brave enough to try being the other way. Just a little. There’s nothing wrong with what you are, but any hankering after the other way of life could indicate you should have a little go.

So as the Glump sits in his cave, sighing over the imagined fun Peebles have, it seems there is a Peeble who would like to slow down and sit and think somewhere quiet. And once their minds have permitted them to rethink how they live, it turns out they can be a bit like the other one. While still being themselves.

Wendy Meddour and Rebecca Ashdown, The Glump and the Peeble

Fun and colourful, with lovely verse from Wendy, which begs to be read out loud, and so much colour in Rebecca’s illustrations. Even I would almost want to be Peeblier if I could be that pink and furry.

Almost.

Leave a Reply

