Counting Stars

Counting Stars was always my favourite book by David Almond. I’m not sure what it was, but after reading it I felt I could write stories too. Felt that I wanted to write them.

I obviously can’t, and won’t try, but the feeling was good. It was as if David and I shared a past, despite our pasts being considerably different in so many ways. But there was something.

David Almond, Counting Stars

Now there is a new edition of Counting Stars. It’s hardback. Mine is/was a paperback. It’s got a beautiful dustwrapper, which alone could make me want to buy the book again.

And to twist anyone’s arm if they are hesitating, a few new stories have been added. Don’t know whether to call that kind, or cruel. Yes, you will want the new ones, but no, you might not be able to buy a second copy.

As for me, I will have to decide which one to keep. I’m the type who likes to hang on to the worn one I read first. But then there are the new extras…

Leave a Reply

