And ten years on…

Ten years go so quickly, don’t they? While the fresh-faced Bookwitch looks good for ten, that other, tired witch propping her up is certainly showing her age. I reckon she thought she’d still be 29, ten years in. Whereas it’s more like, well, at least 49.

Meg Rosoff and the ALMA award, with Alice Bah Kuhnke and Katti Hoflin

I’ve often wondered if I’d last this long. The next wondering has always been whether to give it up. You know, nice round figure (and I don’t only mean me) to end it all.

Philip Pullman

But when I voiced this thought to Ross Collins last month he seemed shocked (and I’m not fooling myself into thinking he’s been here for the duration), so I immediately retracted my threat.

Julie Bertagna, bookwitch and Neil Gaiman

Ross then said I must have ‘got’ a lot of authors in that time, so I sighed deeply and said yes. He seemed concerned that I wasn’t sounding happier, which kicked me out of my morose state of mind. Yes, I do ‘have’ lots of authors, and I love every single one, and treasure them, and this is a cause for celebration. Not sighing. But you know, when you’re 49 sighing comes easily.

John Barrowman

In the last few days I’ve been in email conversation with someone else, about books and publishing and all that kind of thing, and I realised I’ve picked up quite a bit over the years. Not just authors, I mean.

Gordon Brown and Nick Barley

Actual knowledge, except it’s more like English grammar; I couldn’t tell you what it is. I just feel it.

So don’t ask me anything. I don’t know.

Philippa Dickinson and Terry Pratchett

There have been many absolutely wonderful books. And some less so. There have been really fun and interesting events, many of them in unusual places I’d not otherwise have got to visit. And those authors. Oh, those authors.

Steve Cole

Thank you.

(That’s the ‘I will go on for many more years’ thank you. Not the farewell thank you. I hope.)

Sara Paretsky

8 responses to “And ten years on…

  1. I have to point out that the above photographs are not meant to represent ‘author’ authors. I know some are not, really, like John Barrowman who freely admits to not having written his books. They are the surprises, the people I’d definitely not have simply met at bookshop signings. And even these surprises are randomly chosen. There’s a limit to how many I could show. But my fairy blogmother receiving her ALMA award is anything but random.

  2. Long may you continue, Bookwitch!

  3. Congratulations! You are definitely treasured. Love from me

  4. Glad you didn’t give up on it! To Ten more I say :-]

  5. As a reader, I love your blog – as a writer, well, I love you too xxx

  6. 😊 I forgot to mention people with pink hair. They are not bad at all.

  7. I remember when you started. I like knowing you’re in your realm of cyberspace where I can get away from the madness. Keep going; can’t leave til we see The Book of Dust….

  8. Happy birthday – onwards and upwards!

Leave a Reply

