Old hands and celebrities

Following on from my thoughts yesterday, my new, bright, idea was to find some unknown names on the days I’ve planned to go to Edinburgh. And then to go and listen to these new possible stars.

There was just one problem. There weren’t many. I’m not saying there were none.

But I recognised most of the authors and illustrators in the children’s books programme. I reckon I found three or four new names in total, by which I mean they have only one book published, and/or have not done many events.

A couple of them I had highlighted, but they had lost out to another event on at the same time.

The other thing is that with celebrities now ‘writing’ children’s books and appearing at book festivals, there is less room for the new Julie Bertagnas or Joanne Rowlings.

And of course, even if they were going to be there, and even if their books are fabulous, that doesn’t mean they will be household names in ten or twenty years. I suspect it’s the household names that will be raking in more money and more fame.

2 responses to “Old hands and celebrities

  1. Kathryn Evans

    I’m doing an event with Penny Joelson – I heartily recommend her debut 🙂

  2. I have read parts of Penny’s book and it gives me palpitations. This is an indication that it is working, but I find the topic scary beyond belief. And on the grounds that I can’t go in every day, and because you also appear another day, and this is a Saturday (have you any idea what the trains are like on a Saturday in August???), I have decided not to go…

Leave a Reply

