The Pavee and the Buffer

Where Siobhan Dowd is concerned, I will grasp at straws, and her short story The Pavee and the Buffer, is a pretty marvellous straw. Just wish there was a whole field.

Siobhan Dowd

I’m glad that Tony Bradman told the tale behind Siobhan’s participation in his short story collection on racism, Skin Deep, at the launch of The Siobhan Dowd Trust back in the spring, or I would most likely never have come to read it. This was a few years ago, before Siobhan started producing the most wonderful novels at breakneck speed. The Pavee and the Buffer is listed as her first published fiction.

Tony was putting together this collection of stories, and wanted one about Travellers, and in his own words: “I did encounter Siobhan because I was looking for someone to write a story about Travellers, and I was sent to her because she had edited a couple of anthologies of Roma poems and songs, I think. Siobhan initially said she would find me someone, then asked if she could have a go herself. I said of course… she sent me a sample and an outline which I thought were great, and then she wrote a story so good it didn’t need any
editing, and I sent her to Hilary (Delamere). And the rest, as they say, is history.”

Skin Deep is well worth a read, but you could easily buy the book for the 25 pages that are Siobhan’s. Her story tells what it’s like to be a Traveller in Ireland, and most likely everywhere else, as well. It’s about Jim and his cousins, who have to go to school, although they can’t read or write, and they are not exactly welcomed by some of the other pupils. It’s a really touching story, with some lovely relationships, both within Jim’s community, and the friendship he develops with a girl, who is also a bit of an outsider.

And then it all comes to an end, as it must do far too often, and too suddenly, for Travellers, and they have to move on. And Jim has to leave his new friend behind.

A very poignant detail is when Jim’s mother carefully asks if he has learnt to read yet, because if he has, she would quite like him to teach her, too. That really gets to you.

6 responses to “The Pavee and the Buffer

  1. Ah, I miss Siobhan Dowd and I don’t even know her! All the other books she could have written. I am reading Bog Child and am really looking forward to the next (and last) one, currently being edited.

  2. You’re so right, Candy. To have the power to grab people like this from a distance is really special. Just wonder what it would have been like to meet in person.

  3. How have I missed this one? Is the collection in bookshops?

  4. Don’t know how you missed it, but it was before A Swift Pure Cry. Clearly you weren’t paying attention that evening when you, ahem, got lost in Mayfair.

    That online shop I don’t want to advertise here sells it. Otherwise it may be too old, but order it.

  5. Just going over all the missed posts from while I was away. I bloody miss her too, damn it. Yes, P&B as wonderful as anything she did.

  6. Pingback: The Pavee and the Buffer Girl | Bookwitch

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.