Are favourites essential?

‘This may sound silly, but I need a favourite book by tomorrow’, said Daughter. She clearly takes after the Resident IT Consultant, who does not have silly things like favourite anythings. But he has realised that people will expect you to have them, so reckons peace is achieved by making them up.

So we went round the bookcases in search of a favourite book for school today. Decided it couldn’t be Tracy Beaker, as the book was to be introduced to the other members of the reading group (Y11) as a recommendation as something to relax with over the exam season… Yes, my thoughts, exactly. Relax? Exam period?

Something age appropriate was needed. Something good, obviously. And preferably something that reading girls hadn’t already read. Piece of cake. Not.

The final choice fell on a book Daughter doesn’t actually own, because she borrowed it while in Germany last year. Dreamhunter by Elizabeth Knox. And no, I haven’t read it. (Thank you, Lee.) Daughter really did like it, and the proof is in the fact that she does own the sequel, Dreamquake, which she simply had to buy when she returned home.

But what I want to know is, do we have to have favourites? Or are most favourites like the Resident IT Consultant’s, a convenient reply when put on the spot?

7 responses to “Are favourites essential?

  1. No, we don´t. Not if you mean ONE favourite book, film, friend, child or whatever (I have a favourite husband, though).

    I can toy with the idea of writing a list of 10 favourite crime novels, but my imaginary list changes all the time. And why not? – I don´t love the same food – or clothes! – as I did 20 years ago.

  2. Men are supposed to be the great list-maniacs, but it is my wife who is forever updating her list of ‘Top Ten Books’. I tried compiling mine, once, but my heart wasn’t in it. Without a definite reason (e.g. you can only take ten books to this desert island because your bag is only so big) it is hard to see the point. (And anyway, I’d take books I hadn’t yet read. Duh.)

    My favourite book is usually the book I’m reading right now (if it’s good; if it’s not, I’ll give up). Reading is an active process; I can’t get excited about books when they’re on the shelves.

  3. Having a favourite allows someone else to say “that’s my favourite too!” Which starts conversations and friendships.

    My memory isn’t good enough to have a lifetime faourite. I always hope it’ll be the next one I read.

  4. Nope, I don’t believe in favourites either although I have books/films/music that I will go back to according to my mood and/or state of mind. Making lists drives me crazy because I keep changing my mind.

  5. List-making is hard. Just look at the Guardian when they try and pick the best 1000 of whatever.

    Dorte – I hope that’s your own husband?

  6. LOL
    I told my husband what you had written, and assured him it was he.

  7. I have an admission to make: my favourite is usually the one I’m currently reading, unless it’s as awful as the one I wish were Gone.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.