2010 Branford Boase shortlist

Gulp. This is bad. Not the shortlist, but me. I haven’t read a single one of them! Yet.

I hope this state of affairs is not an indication that I’m out of the loop. I do have two of them, Devil’s Kiss and Numbers, waiting for some loving attention. Admittedly Sarwat’s book has waited very long, but had made it onto one of the aforementioned holiday reading piles. Even before Monday’s announcement of the shortlist for the Branford Boase award, I mean.

Devil’s Kiss by Sarwat Chadda, edited by Lindsey Heaven (Puffin)

Stolen by Lucy Christopher, edited by Imogen Cooper (Chicken House)

Life, Interrupted by Damian Kelleher, edited by Anne Clark (Piccadilly Press)

Guantanamo Boy by Anna Perera, edited by Shannon Park (Puffin)

Big and Clever by Dan Tunstall, edited by Ross Bradshaw (Five Leaves)

Numbers by Rachel Ward, edited by Imogen Cooper (Chicken House)

Paradise Barn by Victor Watson, edited by Leonie Pratt (Catnip)

Seeing as Branford Boase winners tend to go on to do very well, it’s a case here of having to find out more. And I hope that the six that don’t win, also go on to great things.

7 responses to “2010 Branford Boase shortlist

  1. so proud of sarwat! it’s a great book, witch.

    well done, imogen cooper for getting two in. great to see the independents – even teeny tiny catnip! fantastic!

  2. You’ll have to start looking round to see who will share that list with you this time next year.

  3. adele geras

    Three of these, Guantanamo Boy, Stolen and Numbers are also on the shortlist for the Lancashire Book Award. Will we see you there again, Bookwitch? Hope so.

  4. Jake asked me yesterday, but I’m having a ‘university open day summer’. Lots of trips all over the place, all at the wrong time.

  5. adele geras

    I’ll tell you all about it! have fun at the Unis…

  6. I’ve read two, heard Numbers is the one to beat, but haven’t read it. Great idea, though…..

  7. A copy of Paradise Barn in the post to follow Eep!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.