Christmas wishlist

Dear Father Christmas I suppose it’s soon time for Christmas shopping. I’d rather not think about it, though I am planning a foray into the charity shops of Altrincham today. Don’t tell the family, please. Here are two new books for those who need something fresh.

Father Christmas features in both these picture books, as well he should. In Dear Father Christmas by Jeanne Willis you even get his address, so you can write to him yourself. I won’t, but the stickers in the back of the book will be nice to put on my other Christmas post. I love stickers! The story is about a girl’s letter to FC, and she is refreshingly uninterested in worldly goods, so I hope that’s a message which young readers can adopt.

In Where Teddy Bears Come From by Mark Burgess we have a little wolf longing for a teddy bear of his own to help him sleep. Many traditional story characters turn up while he is searching for his bear, including Red Riding Hood and the Three Little Pigs. I like the colours in Russell Ayto’s illustrations and there’s a nice retro 1960s feel to them.

Where Teddy Bears Come From

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.