The Wish List

A book for the ladies, is how Eoin Colfer himself put it. He seemed to feel that The Wish List would be a good starting point for mothers unwilling to read his books. And there is some truth in that.

Personally I do like The Wish List very much, but I’m picking it today because it goes with what we are all doing right now. Dealing with lists and wishes. I have no lists for things I want to be given. (Oat cakes with pepper or chilli will do fine.) I only have lists of things still to do, and they are all the boring things I’m still trying to fool myself into believing don’t really need doing.

Back to Eoin and his book. It, too, of course, is a list of things to do. Things to do before dying, but very humorous even so.

Meg Finn has been both naughty and nice, so when Saint Peter and Beelzebub speak on their mobile phones, as they sometimes do, she gets given some extra time to do something. The ‘something’ is what old Lowrie McCall wants or needs to do. His list is, as he points out, the only way to Heaven for the very ill Lowrie and the already sort of dead Meg.

Kissing an old flame comes first. Then football in Croke Park. Men!

Dealing with a bully. Always a good one. Like forgiving them. And Meg has a go at wishing, too. There’s spitting. I don’t get it, but we all want different things from life.

People die, which is good. And bad.

You’d think this kind of subject might be boring, but Eoin doesn’t do boring.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.